The Love I Left Behind


Author: Bagande

Author: Bagande (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

My heart built walls because I could not trust.

 

With no one to care for my heart could rust.

 

I challenged my heart to venture out again.

 

Because of deep wounds, it was reluctant to begin.

 

I was helpless at first, but my love ran deep.

 

Soon I was searching for a lover’s heart to keep.

 

But walls separated us and soon I hastened on my way,

 

Looking for a new relationship to fill my day.

 

I searched desperately, yet I could not settle down.

 

A perfect woman was elusive and never could be found.

 

I became a victim of my own love/hate wars.

 

Bouncing from love to hate, I blamed failure on the stars.

 

But surviving was not living, I needed one true love.

 

I looked for guidance from Venus and Cupid above.

 

Dreams were all I had, though troubled from the start.

 

But I did not give up my search, orders came from my heart.

 

One last try, I decided, before my search was through.

 

That was when I got lucky, because love brought me to you.

 

Later I was chosen to lead the annual Valentine parade downtown.

 

I protested I was unworthy, for love had been hard to pin down.

 

Friends mentioned I had struggled while remaining gracious and kind.

 

Losing in love several times, I had scattered love and beauty behind.

 

I saw relationships blooming profusely all along my crooked way.

 

Then I realized love conquered all, and found the better way.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

