Jungle Law


I cling to my branch watching the trail below,

Hoping those hungry leopards don’t show,

I think one of them gobbled up pop,

Mom was next, the leopard wouldn’t stop,

I screamed for help but to no avail,

That’s one reason now I watch the trail,

I could be singing and dancing with glee,

But that certainly would make a target of me,

I’ve got chimpanzee friends in high places,

Ready to swing down if I see leopard faces,

In return I will keep a sharp eagle eye,

For any hungry looking animal passing by,

So while I watch the chimp children play,

We all feel more secure yet another day,

I’m at my post and I cannot sleep,

For I made promises I intend to keep,

I’ll scream out loud with a warning cry,

If something unusual catches my eye,

Those chimp children are all over the place,

So I’m especially alert for a leopard face,

Should I give a warning to the group,

They’d better go quickly to their troop,

There is safety in numbers with fang and claw,

For tragedy strikes quickly, it’s jungle law.

6 thoughts on “Jungle Law

  1. It’s a Jungle out there, and no mistake Dan, not surprised the lookout is posted and eagle eyed, makes all the difference between split second life and death. Enjoyed the read my friend. xPenx

    • Learning to be the lookout is important and dangerous. Imagine what the group might do if you fell asleep? Oh, no, not a suspension like the air traffic controllers got. In the jungle, the mighty jungle, if you sleep you get eaten by the enemy or become an outcast, a loner, and death becomes a quick reality. Thanks for commenting and enjoy each day. You’re in my thoughts.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    • All the paintings I post are painted by Sarah, my daughter. I only write. I enjoy art but I’m limited to pen or pencil.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    • But she’s back to being a waitress. Times are tough for her as an artist. Once I dreamed of my blog catching up with hers. Since she’s had well over 100,000 visitors to her gentlehugs cafe blog, I’ll never be close.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

