One Storm Was Different


Thunderstorm
Image by Jonathan Gill via Flickr

Time after
time I observed beautiful storms,

Wanting to
see differences, wanting to see norms,

Usually they
appeared suddenly, lighting up the sky,

And I would
watch with wonder as they passed me by,

But one
storm looked different, just a little odd,

Its profile
dark and menacing, its shoulders wide and broad,

The storm
moved quickly in from the west,

Its eyes
flashed angrily and it spoke loudly with zest,

I could see
its determined look the closer it came,

Then a
funnel descended, and it called out my name,

I hid in my
basement, away from the destructive wind,

It was out
to destroy me, I knew it was no friend,

My home was
gone, the storm took all I had,

But I had
evaded death this time; the storm was really mad,

Time after
time I weathered marital fights,

Wanting to
know who was wrong and who was right,

Usually
these arguments would flare up fast,

But I didn’t
want to listen until my anger was past,

One fight
seemed different, just a little odd,

Her words were
mean and icy, but my shoulders were broad,

The quarrel
continued, I felt tightness in my chest,

Her eyes
flashed and her words continued with zest,

I could see
the fury in her face, the closer she came,

My pride was
punctured as she called me some awful names,

I hid in
silence, away from her angry glare,

She was out
to destroy me, no longer did she care,

Along with
my heart she took away my pride,

But I still
had lots of love bottled deep inside,

When she
left I had to face life once again,

With little
to lose this time, but much more to gain,

I’ll continue
enjoying storms as they roll into view,

But this
time I’ll be aware of the destruction one storm can do.

34 thoughts on “One Storm Was Different

Add yours

  1. I really loved this, Dan and how you paralleled the similarities between vicious storms causing destruction to a destructive relationship. I was intrigued by this writing from start to finish. And I sure hope you aren’t a resident of Joplin, MO!

    I also was surprised to see my poem linked in on your page under “Related Articles”! Funny, huh?!

    Gayle

    1. Thannks, Gayle, for your comments regarding my poem. Also for the lending of your poem to my choices. Nope. I’m a resident of Parkville, north of Joplin about 200 miles.. We had a lot of warnings but none of the tragedy of Jooplin except where it affected friends. Wasn’t your poem one of my choices? I always pick the good ones.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  2. You’re very welcome, Dan. I’m glad you avoided the wrath of that storm and am sorry for any friends or family affected. I just can’t get over the damage done to that area and to the residents–very sorry.

    Please explain how that “Related Articles” works. Did you pick those articles? I thought it was random–I don’t have a clue. I did get two “pingbacks” from you to your two blogs though. Thanks.

    1. After a tragedy like that the scars remain for years to come, physically and emotionally. The town will recover because the people are determined to bounce back. Compassion and generosity of friends and strangers will help. It is the same with individual families when they suffer a loss. Life goes on and loved ones become part of the inspiration. Related articles–are picked by staff and put into a selected list. From that list or from requested choices that are approved by staff, writers can choose the ones they think are related. I saw your poem, Far Off Rumbles, listed and chose it because of its quality and topic. I’m not very tech oriented so I learn as I go.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

      1. Thank you, Dan, for explaining the “Related Articles” listing and I’m honored that you chose it–I appreciate that.
        Peace,
        Gayle

      2. Gayle, it was my pleasure. More poems please that I can relate to.

        May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. I’ve been through both and a few more. Such are some of the challenges of life and I’ve learned that since I survived, I can thrive.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  3. I loved the collusion of the two concepts, both with destructive consequences, yet you gave both an optimistic if not measured result

    1. Oh, I’ve lived through some destructive consequences on a lot of fronts but I can still see the light at the end of the tunnel. Thanks for your comments. They’re really appreciated.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. Thanks, David. Your comments made my day. I really enjoy your work so that means a lot.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. I may have weathered a storm or two, but I’m still looking to share skies of blue, For high pressure and low pressure clash, Storms are built with lightning flash, But life and love go on and on, Until those battles with storms are won.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. Storms come often and without mercy. That’s why I like to encourage others.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. Thanks. You made my day! I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

      1. ladynimue, I’m already impressed with your writing. Your comments mean a lot. They encourage me and keep me writing. I write about what inspires me. Sometimes it’s words, sometimes a picture that gets me going.

        May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  4. Emotional storms can be just as devastating, they too destroy lives. You’ve really captured the dynamics of a relationship in a tumultuous time. Beautiful poem and I wish you the best

    1. Even though I write about emotional storms I still look for love. I enjoy life….. Thanks for your comments and well wishes.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. Hopefully you don’t have to go through every experience to learn it. I haven’t seen it all, but definitely enough. I used to be young and foolish. Now that I’m older foolishness is called wisdom. I like that. Thanks.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. Thanks, Ji, for dropping by. Thank you for all you do.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  5. This is actually stunning. The juxtapostion of stormy weather/stormy relationships.

    Glad to see you didn’t have the Joplin experience. Hope all your family and friends are okay.

    1. Almost all my family is in CA. Might get ocean spray in their eyes or orchard dust. I heard my Joplin friends are okay.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  6. Your poem pulled me into the depth of your storm… It is thundering and rainy here now… What a perfect time to read this to be drawn into your words….

    1. Within us lie landscapes untouched and then there are landscapes decimated. Storms do their damage wherever they might be. Glad you stopped by. Thanks for your comments.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

