Today Is a New Day


Too often I cry, “What can you do for me today?”

But what I want to say,

“What can I do for you today?”

Can I wash your feet, visit you in jail,

Make you a pie with a heavenly smell?

I don’t want this to be a reciprocal thing,

I don’t want you to owe me anything,

Since life races along at breakneck speed,

I’d like to do something, at least one good deed,

I’ll give you a smile, start a new trend,

Share my life, become a true friend,

I want each day to be more about you,

So tell me, “What do you want me to do?”

I want my children to imitate what they see,

I guess that’s when life can be about me,

I’ll honor my parents though it may seem odd,

I’ll do unto others and I’ll worship God,

If I am generous in all that I do,

Then I might influence one, or maybe a few,

Helping others won’t be just an act,

And it won’t be because I simply react,

I want to share my heart in all that I do,

Today is a new day, what can I do for you?

 

 

Leave a Reply

