TOMORROW IS THE BEST DAY


Every day is sweeter than the day before,
Every day I love life a little bit more.
Starting with eye raising exercises,
Making my eyes look full of surprises.
Leaping out of bed, (o.k. If I’m honest instead)
I crawl out and sometimes bump my head.
I stumble down the hall, holding on to the wall,
Realize I’m getting shorter than ever, I’m growing small.
Saying, Parkinson’s Disease, you ain’t got me yet!
I mumble a few other words like….oh I forget,
But it’s still a beautiful day, and nothing’s in my way,
There are Tigers (lilies) and Lions (dandelions)
A whole world full of animals, wild, and free,
Living with gusto just like me, don’t you agree?
Sooner or later I might take a swim,
I might wait until the ocean is filled to the brim.
Splash around in water trying not to sink.
Wondering where’s my woman? She’s my missing link.
But I manage to survive another fine day
With God’s abundant love packed around my solitary life,
And just maybe I could have survived a wife.
I remember to count the stars shimmering silver on black,
They remind me there’s nothing I need and nothing I lack.
But just in case I forgot even one little thing,
There’s always tomorrow to add to my list
One more time to kiss or be kissed,
Tonight when I bow down to pray,
I’ll say ,Lord, I’m ready but I need one more day.
P.S.
And Lord, I have three more blogs to write
And three more books, no, not tonight,
I’m writing about you, and I need more time.
There’s a few poems also with a little rhyme.
And I haven’t seen Sri Lanka, Moscow, or Idaho,
Your world is beautiful, you put on a show.
Yes, I’m finished with your world. I’d like to show it.
It’ll slow me down in the ground.
But it’ll take time BECAUSE I’m a poet.

May 24,2017

2 thoughts on “TOMORROW IS THE BEST DAY

Add yours

  1. Dan, I enjoyed this. You have such a gift for story and I appreciate the gratitude expressed here. Something to be proud of. I’m on the run right now, but will return for a more careful read. Blessings and I’m so pleased that you are joining in.

  2. I neᥱded to thank yoս for this gгeat read!! I definitely ⅼoved every bit of it.

    I have you book marked tto look att new stᥙff you post…

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

