ADRIFT


One of ours ships was adrift, my captain,
No one was at the helm,
But somehow she sailed on.
But she was out of our reach and going at a steady pace,,
Captain, I’m saying this to your face,
I wouldn’t lie to you.
There was no one in charge of this ship,
Except for a ghostly crew.
Mick and me tried to slip up to the ship,
Deep in the quiet of night,
But the ship picked up the pace
And soon was out of sight.
Yet we did see some eerie faces,
That grinned as we got near,
They were a pale green much like you,
And like your motley crew.
They wasn’t caring much about me,
Or about others, I think we agree.
Being adrift in a dark sea,
Was scary even to an old tar like me,
Captain, my captain, they had fangs long and sharp,
And eyes that stared cold as ice.
Where are we going, I asked once or twice.
They never told me, their silence would suffice.
The ship was adrift, though it never veered off course.
It sailed west into the setting sun,
Where the sails burned one by one.
Sharks circled, birds swooped for a closer view,
And other ships stayed far away, afraid of the ghostly crew.
My captain, I didn’t want to let you drown,
But the sharks were in a feeding frenzy,
And I didn’t know your hands were bound.
Everything you owned you left for me,
I’m ashamed you were never found.
But no longer will we drift at sea,
I’m glad you left me in charge,
Now we can seek revenge and get what we want,
As we travel the world at large.
Listen up, crew,
We’ve got work to do.
Ships will go under,
As we plunder.
Pour me another ale,
And off we’ll sail,
Across the ocean blue.

May 22, 2017

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Cindy Holman

Musings From A Musical Mind

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Cindy Holman

Musings From A Musical Mind

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

