SHE OWES ME A KISS


Shivering at the edge of the abyss

I shouted, “She owes me a kiss!”

I glared at the jagged rocks below,

Accusing the storm, screaming against the wind.

“You’re the one who ought to know!

Why did you bring me here?

She was my darling, my sweet dear.

“Why?” I yelled again.

The storm roared on and on,

Oblivious to me, convinced it had won.

“My sweetheart lies cold and now she’s gone,

And I’m chilled to the bone.”

I took another swig from my flask.

“Is there no one who loves me, if I dare ask?”

I was ready to leap, but something held me back.

Was it courage that I lacked?

Should I follow her to a watery tomb,

Was I ready to meet my doom?

An unknown voice pierced my inner storm.

“Can I hold you and keep you warm?”

I was sure I heard an angel’s voice.

In the midst of chaos I made a choice.

I  chose a stranger whose kind eyes and sweet smile

Made me love her. (We’ve been married quite awhile).

You ask if I’m happy, I’ll tell you before I go,

My heart loves both, if you want to know.

I come here, and I always will,

To pay respects to my first wife, I love her still.

I’d be lying if I denied all this.

But it seems like yesterday,

And she owes me a kiss.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

