I WON!


Often I have bought tickets to win a big prize,

Cash or a trip to a faraway place.

I never won even in my dreams,

Just one of the crowd waiting with expectant face.

What were the odds of winning the pot,

Raking in millions, and sharing all I got?

I was lying to myself,

Justifying the easy way to pay bills,

When it was for the thrill.

So how did I win?

Was it in the shark tank I learned to swim?

Contrary to what you might believe,

I quit trying to deceive.

I spent time being a friend,

Helped others begin again,

Loved openly with all my heart,

And became the man I should have been

Right from the start.

I won self-respect, honor, and trust,

And that, my friends, is something

That can’t be stolen, tarnished, or rust.

As you can see, I’m proud of me.

But I have also widened my view.

You remained my friend and I’m proud of you.

by Dan Roberson     Oct. 12, 2016

 

Leave a Reply

