Me, My Wife, and the Other Guy


My Wife
My Wife (Photo credit: Abulic Monkey)

 

Me, My Wife, and the Other Guy

 

We sat at a table, the three of us,

 

Me, my wife, and the other guy,

 

Conversation flowed for awhile,

 

But neither could look me in the eye.

 

The place I sat was bypassed,

 

As words zipped and darted,

 

Like little birds flying to nests.

 

From time to time they would

 

Stop to consider and take a rest.

 

Both were annoyed that I remained,

 

And could find nothing else to do.

 

Joining in was out of the question,

 

Therefore I could do nothing but stew.

 

Her eyes bubbled over with images of him,

 

While his eyes were hooded and cold.

 

He wanted to do more than talk,

 

He waited to be reckless and bold.

 

Calmly I lifted my empty glass

 

And pretended to take a sip of my juice.

 

One false word, one slight misstep,

 

And surely all hell would break loose.

 

I studied the two in their interlocking worlds,

 

And decided I didn’t want to be there.

 

Fifteen years of married bliss,

 

And now she no longer cared.

 

Out the door and into the night,

 

Although I had no real place to go,

 

My heart was aching, my marriage breaking,

 

Life had dealt me a terrible blow.

 

With each heavy step from my house,

 

I reassured my shredded heart.

 

The future was cloudy and unknown,

 

But it was time for a brand new start.

 

I contained my anger and let it go

 

Without even raising my voice,

 

They had each other and I walked away.

 

For me it was the wisest choice.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Me, My Wife, and the Other Guy

Add yours

  1. … and so it would be the right choice if that happened and I hope it didn’t, Dan. Horrible, but as always a well told tale by you.

    Hope things are going well and you are enjoying Northern California.

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

