Expiration Date


Expiration Date (film)
Expiration Date (film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

 

Expiration Date

 

Questions without answers drive me out of my mind,

 

And one answer in particular has been hard to find,

 

I’ve been noticing the labels on products in stores,

 

All the way to the ceilings and down to the floors,

 

From the ones I think marginal to the ones first-rate,

 

They’re all bar coded and have an expiration date,

 

Now I’ve been wondering but I’m not sure it’s true,

 

Are there expiration dates stamped on me and you?

 

Although I’ve inspected my skin from head to toes,

 

That date might still be hidden right under my nose,

 

There is so much to know and I want to relate,

 

What conditions are expected with my expiration date?

 

Am I like a fragrance and age pleasantly over time?

 

Or will I degrade quickly after I pass my prime?

 

No longer guaranteed to be as effective as before,

 

Even with a receipt I can’t be returned to the store,

 

Freshness, quality assurance, an answer I seek,

 

How long will it be before I’m past flavor’s peak?

 

Am I like a Golden Delicious that’s juicy and sweet,

 

And then become rotten and not fit to eat?

 

Do I have a warranty that’s determined by fate?

 

Or should I just expect to gradually deteriorate?

 

If I don’t have an answer then what will I do?

 

Time will expire without a chance to renew.

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Expiration Date

Add yours

  1. This is great. I always enjoy your humor, Dan. It’s unique and gentle.

    I hope your experation date is a long way off. According to my medically predicted experation date, I’ve overstayed my welcome by 11 years.

    1. Jamie, I’m glad you weren’t in a hurry to check out. You’ve been an inspiration to me and others. Just when I’m dragging and having trouble facing the day, there you are. Thanks.I just got a paperback published. It’s a paperback, “Devils or Angels”. You might recognize my unusual blend of poetry and short stories. Now, on to book two. In the meantime when health permits, I’m still trying to keep up my blogging. I don’t have a quantity of readers, just quality ones, and commentslike yours keep me going.

      > Date: Thu, 1 Nov 2012 07:03:51 +0000 > To: poetsenvy@hotmail.com >

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

