Returning Home


 

Fear & Anticipation

Fear & Anticipation (Photo credit: hartlandmartin)

 

Returning home

 

With trepidation I set out across country, driving towards the sunset.  After months of wrestling over what to do, my destination was set, my mind made up, and now I was on my way.  One hour passed and already I was waffling. “What if I can’t do this?  I’m not ready for such an undertaking.  I should wait until my life improves.”

 

I stopped for coffee and took a few deep breaths.  “I can do this.  One mile at a time, one city at a time, and one day at a time and I’ll be there before my mind rebels again.”

 

Into the dark forbidding night,

 

I worried and fretted as I took flight,

 

Taking charge of a new life direction,

 

Heading for my faraway destination,

 

Discovering old fears in life’s seams,

 

Finding new fears in all my dreams,

 

Returning to my hometown,

 

Facing the emptiness deep down,

 

Nothing before me, everything behind,

 

As I traveled what would I find?

 

Mile after mile the night called,

 

And with morning’s light I was appalled,

 

Everything was arid as far as I could see,

 

This was not the place for me,

 

I had left the forests in my hectic pace,

 

Now rocks and sand were in my face,

 

Still I was determined I had the power,

 

To continue traveling hour after hour,

 

Yet as I left my old world behind,

 

I became eager to see what I might find,

 

All the resources I had at hand,

 

Became power under my command,

 

My confidence grew as the miles flew by,

 

Life was insisting on yet another try,

 

My fears were gone and my strength reborn,

 

I was no longer tired and mentally worn,

 

I decided life wouldn’t be easy but I’d stay the course,

 

Until I claimed my fortune and then I’d rejoice,

 

One mile, one day, my world loomed large,

 

My fears were gone, I was back in charge.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Returning Home

  1. This was wonderful Dan and what a journey! I think we all have something we have to face, but we prevaricate because we can’t make up our minds on whether to do this thing that will impact our lives in a huge way. I think the biggest parts of the journey are the actual decision and then when we reach our goal. We finally have time to catch our breath and we realize that it wasn’t as bad as we thought it was gonna be and it was so worth the little fears and the stumbling blocks that popped up.
    I really enjoyed reading. May you have a blessed week.

    http://elizena-lovingmycreator.blogspot.com/2012/09/hearts-harvest.html

Leave a Reply

