Too Close to Her Heart


American Beauty (soundtrack)

American Beauty (soundtrack) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One rose stood out from among the rest,

It was clear that I loved her best,

An American Beauty beyond compare,

She was special so I gave her extra care,

Her petals were as smooth as silk,

Her coloring as deep and rich as milk,

I discovered her fragrance, her beauty, and her fame,

Rose was nonplussed when I called her by another name,

I held her close and vowed my love,

She murmured sweet words and glanced above,

She unsheathed her thorns and prepared for me,

Because she thought our love couldn’t be,

She was afraid to love right from the start,

Her thorns pricked me when I got close to her heart.

 

One thought on “Too Close to Her Heart

Leave a Reply

