Favorites I Keep


Redbuds
Redbuds (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

The world opens up to show,

My favorite things,

Which can be enjoyed by paupers,

As well as wealthy kings,

 

They are not so secret,

But within, favorites I keep,

They can be easily aroused,

Whether I’m awake or asleep,

 

During stormy weather or fair,

They always bring a smile,

To my heart when I’m down,

They’ve kept me in awe for awhile,

 

I don’t share them all,

Not all of them are exposed to view,

But others can enjoy,

Some of my favorite things, too,

 

I didn’t enumerate or keep score,

Although in order the list is set,

I wrote them down,

Lest I forget,

 

It reminds me of childhood when,

The smell of fresh gingerbread,

Entices me to the kitchen,

Nothing needs to be said,

 

Spring brings a gentle view,

The first flowers of spring,

Mighty oaks standing tall,

Trees blossoming and greening,

 

Thick green grassy lawns,

Redbuds and dogwood,

Irises with broad beards,

Beautify my neighborhood,

 

Remembering and humming,

A happy song,

One that lingers in my head,

All day long,

 

The silence is broken,

After a swim in the pool,

When excited kids come home,

After a great day at school,

 

I’m reminded I need a nap,

With the purr of a cat,

Lying in the sunshine,

Contented and fat,

 

Water splashing in my kitchen sink,

A precious liquid and often the link,

To a shower after camping,

And a tall cool drink,

 

I watch with intense pleasure,

Water bubbling from fountains,

Sparkling with diamonds,

Cascading from mountains,

 

Burnt umber and scarlets,

The dazzling colors of fall,

Winter’s first blanket of snow,

Flying geese as they call,

 

Quiet things impress me,

Frost when it glistens,

A long soft kiss,

A friend who listens,

 

In the dark or in shadows,

Playing love’s sweet game,

Cuddling in the moonlight,

Whispering a name,

 

In the worlds I keep,

There is much to discover and see,

But my most favorite thing,

Is the love of a woman who truly loves me.

 

 

One thought on “Favorites I Keep

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Cindy Holman

Musings From A Musical Mind

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Cindy Holman

Musings From A Musical Mind

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

