Neither Silver nor Gold


Neither Silver nor Gold

Randy burst into the room,

And began to shout,

“My debts have been paid,

They’ve all been wiped out!

 

Someone paid all my debts,

I don’t owe any more!

My debts have been paid,

Someone’s evened the score!”

 

“Are you serious?” his friend snorted,

“Who would help a poor bum?

There’s more to this story that you’re not telling,

Who would do something that dumb?

 

This is so unbelievable,

It can’t really be true,

Someone’s pulling your chain,

And he’s probably scamming you,

 

Who paid off your debts,

What’s his given name?

If you find out who he’s working for,

You’ll understand his real game,”

 

There was silence only for a moment,

Before Randy said, “I know he paid my debts,

My burden has been lifted,

I’m at peace and I have no regrets,

 

Small problems became mountains,

Before I met him I feared each day,

There were always things I owed,

That I knew I could never pay,

 

I was already in a state of ruin,

There was no way out I could tell,

I had given up all hope,

I was trapped in a financial hell,

 

Out of nowhere came this man,

Who said the debts I had faced,

Were gone and solved forever,

They were paid and now erased,

 

My friend was still shocked, “It can’t be true,

The only way to stop debts is to create wealth,

Save wisely, and save till you die,

Money is even more important than health,

 

Family can wait, stay on your job,

There’s no miracle waiting out there,

No one pays your debts for free,

You’re talking dreams, mirrors, and smoke in the air,

 

Be shrewd in a world like this,

It’s the only way to get someplace,

So forget the idea your debts are paid,

There’s only one way to win this race!”

 

Randy answered, “But I tell you it’s true,

The road will be tough but I have no regrets,

When he told me to follow him,

There was no question, he had paid my debts,

 

I’ve determined that his way is best,

The strangest part of the story I’ve told,

Is about this stranger who paid,

He had neither silver nor gold,

 

Nothing was uncommon, he fit right in,

He talked as if he had always known me,

His father had always been a family friend,

Then he shared his vision of eternity,

 

He said I won’t need money in this faraway place,

All my needs and wants will be cared for,

I just need to get myself ready,

When he comes knocking at my door,”

 

My friend was livid, boiling hot mad,

“I want him arrested and thrown into jail,

He’ll destroy the economy and dreams I had,

Without silver and gold it’ll be pure hell!

 

He should be murdered or hung on a tree,

Stretched out before us so all can see,

There’s no way he can pay all the debts,

“You’ll always owe, you can never be free!”

 

After that outburst my friend stormed out,

“I hope he doesn’t kill someone,” Randy said out loud,

But he worried about the way his friend reacted,

Violence unleashed only needs one voice in a crowd,

 

The stranger was calm, as Randy followed him that day,

He touched the crippled, downtrodden, those with sores,

The stranger performed miracles to Randy’s surprise,

Then he said, “Come to me for I am the door,”

 

Was this man crazy, for now Randy had doubts,

Everything was happening fast and was so unknown,

Randy could leave the life the stranger offered,

Before he changed all that Randy had ever known,

 

The stranger’s small group met late one night,

He explained how he would die without a fight,

“Not so,” Randy blurted, “that won’t be right,

I’ll protect you and keep you in sight,”

 

“When the time comes,” said the stranger,

“You’ll claim you’ve never seen my face,”

Randy denied it but knew in his heart,

That something profound had taken place,

 

This garden was a new beginning,

Different from when Adam had failed the test,

But it all came about as expected,

And someday Randy will know the rest.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Neither Silver nor Gold

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

