My Smiles Within


all smiles

Image via Wikipedia

Sometimes my face hides my smiles within,

As I remember moments and special friends,

They’re all I have to keep me warm,

But they’re enough when memories swarm,

“See that puppy!” I shrieked out loud,

You would have thought I’d draw a crowd,

“Wow!” when excited at my first kiss,

Her eyes were closed in momentary bliss,

Each child born always brought a grin,

How could I hold back the happiness within?

Even at funerals I couldn’t suppress a smile,

As friends passed on, “I’ll see you in awhile,”

So now my thoughts are full of smiles,

I can stretch them out for miles and miles,

Weathered, worn, my face appears grim,

But hidden beneath this tired old skin,

Are hopes and dreams of things I sought,

And wrapped around them are smiling thoughts.

Leave a Reply

