Before You See the Movie, Read My Life


Beneath Our Dreams
Image by crystalandcats via Flickr

Read with gusto when you begin,

Tear back the covers and read all that is there,

From opening line to the end,

My life is worn and threadbare,

Discover how a bright beginning can turn sour,

Over and over as the pages are turned,

The bruises and cuts drained me of power,

Although they were earned and lessons were learned,

The moments when I held out a helping hand,

Times I rushed into love with a heart that was blind,

There are dips and turns that I still don’t understand,

As I looked for commitment that I never could find,

Yes, some pages are filled with relationships and dust,

But it’s all there, pages dog-eared and torn,

Years that were common but sprinkled with lust,

For when I was alone and forlorn,

There were no home fires left to burn,

No one left waiting alone in a bed,

In those moments I searched for a love to earn,

But the pages are empty and tear-stained instead,

When you read my life there are certain phrases,

As I talk about my occupation, my hobbies, and work,

You’ll notice I went through different phases,

Sometimes I was a knight and sometimes a jerk,

You’d have to read my poetry to learn more about me,

Because I’ve mellowed and changed with age,

I once said it would take tomes to explain what came to be,

And now on one microchip my life doesn’t fill one page,

But if one poem or one memory gives you a smile,

Then my life has somehow been worthwhile,

So read with gusto from the beginning to the end,

And look at my picture with my lopsided grin,

Most of my life was wasted on mistakes I made,

But there wasn’t much of life I’d care to trade,

My book is a book about hard knocks, you see,

It tells all you really need to know about me,

My pages are dog-eared and torn,

I’m not as new as the day I was born,

But I have things to add before my book is put away,

I’m still looking for someone to make my day,

Then I can close my book with a grin,

Knowing love finally came through at the end.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Before You See the Movie, Read My Life

Add yours

    1. Thank you, lynnaima, for your encouraging comments. I agree with you.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. Sometimes it’s best to look backwards and count the blessings before complaining about the present and asking about the future.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

