“He’s Someone I Should Know”


Crayfish party called Kräftskiva
Image via Wikipedia

Who is that freckle-faced, red-headed kid,

Holding a crawdad and snake?

Is he someone I know?

 

As I look through my pictures I wonder,

Am I still that fun loving boy?

Where did time go?

 

That young lad was in love with the world,

Curiosity was his name,

He wanted to discover everything,

 

From the tops of trees or on bended knee,

He ruled his world,

For awhile he was king,

 

Where is the young man who loved sports?

It didn’t matter which one it was,

He always gave one hundred percent,

 

I can see his smiling face in my yearbook,

He enjoyed his high school years,

But those days came and went,

 

Where is the young man who chased the girls?

He was so excited,

Learning what made them tick,

 

He found out he was not so smart,

Finding love was much easier,

Than working to make it stick,

 

Where is the dad who took great joy?

Seeing his children blossom,

They grew fast over the years,

 

They’re all gone and far away,

But I still remember,

As I brush away my tears,

 

Now as I sift through my pictures,

There’s one I didn’t see,

There’s the man I knew,

 

I have a lifetime of things I’ve done,

Frozen moments in pictures,

My, how those years flew!

 

 

 

14 thoughts on ““He’s Someone I Should Know”

Add yours

    1. But he forgets how blessed he is and he looks at what he doesn’t have. I also forget all the life and relationships that have brought me to this point. Thanks for the reminder.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  1. It’s so funny, because yesterday, I sat with my 18 year old niece and went through some black and white pictures I’d found of my family. I sat and told her who everyone was in the picture and what had been going on at the time, if I could remember that is, and as I was talking to her I thought, “What happened to that young girl and if she’s enjoying her life now?” Have to admit, that while I have more wrinkles, I’m still basically the same…zany, crazy, and a bit of a space General (I was promoted! LOL!).
    Your poem brought back lots of good memories and I yearned to be young once again.
    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this and look forward to reading more from you. 🙂

    1. Elizana, That’s exactly the kind of response that keeps me writing. The Lord gives me inspiration and opportunities to reach out. I don’t know what direction the poems or stories are taking. In this case I was asking God if I’ve made a difference and if I was still usable. I’m more wrinkly, and also zany, lonely, siblings and children all live in CA, a mixed bag of memories (thus stories and poems can be sad or glad), and I’m still looking up even as I ask for direction. I live in a big house alone, which led me to write (My House is an Art Gallery), but I feel pressure to return to CA. I am a beekeeper (you can see me on a blog on wordpress). I’m into puzzle building at the moment. I think of myself as a dog whisperer, and as a writer. Oh, yes, I still tutor students. There are so many things to do that I forget what I’ve done that day.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  2. Gratitude for the past and present, eh? …
    I can just see you as a boy from this, Dan. Bright and joyful.

    The years do fly by. The children leave. What is our role than? So hard to know, but we find things and people who keep us going.

    Lovely nostalgic poem. Well done.

    1. So many experiences flow under the bridge and I stopped to look and contemplate.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  3. fabulous piece…smiles.
    Greetings:
    Hope that you have had a great Merry Christmas.
    Happy New Year.
    Share a piece of your poetry today at our poetry party today, 1 to 3 random poems are welcome in general, old ones are okay.
    hope to see you in.
    Have fun!
    Sending you love and blessings.
    Cheers.
    xoxox

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

