Common Threads


Bohus cardigan  "The Woven Fabric"

Image by AnnaKika via Flickr

Woven
through our lives were common threads,

They were almost alike but were not the same,

Some strands
we followed that nowhere led,

As we chased
dreams of fortune and fame,

 

There were truths and lies we often said,

But life
gave each of us a different game,

Life’s fabrics
were woven and pieces shred,

When money
talked and called your name,

 

I have no regrets
for all that could have been,

I avoided
risks that would have brought me shame,

My love was not
squandered at slightest whim,

Our common threads
were not spun the same,

 

You flirted
with danger, went out on a limb,

Looked for
easy wealth that was lying around,

Tried to convince
yourself how life was grim,

When things
went awry and no money was found,

 

You wanted
to stay young, all fit and trim,

While you
waited for your ship to come in,

You hovered
at the edge of life’s rim,

Never
thinking about loss, just expecting to win,

 

Common
threads woven were not the same,

I discovered
that money couldn’t buy everything,

Your threads
spelled out a different name,

You got your
diamonds and had your fling,

 

I made choices
and my story became mine alone,

You were
convinced my decisions were rash,

But relationships
were important and I had grown,

I could not
compromise and turned down hard cold cash,

 

Threads were
woven into a pattern of my own,

You needed
more than I had to remain my friend,

All the love
we had shared and ever known,

Could not
keep us together at the end,

 

But you were woven into my life,

My heart still
dreamed and called your name,

Your absence
cut through me like a knife,

Common
threads woven were not the same,

 

I sometimes wondered how many threads,

Needed to be
woven to make you strong,

And how weak
would I be if I continued alone,

Our lives
turned out differently and oh, so wrong,

 

Life offered
you riches and you sold out,

Money was
more important than us being we,

At death you’ll
leave it all behind, I have no doubt,

As death
wraps us both, you’ll have the same threads as me.

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Common Threads

  1. An in depth description of two lives lived, Dan, and the threads which lead each where they will, with choices garnered by the inner being, soul or core…(whatever you believe in) … Even for friendships/loves sake you cannot cut the tie that binds you to your conscience on how your live your life. Have a good week-end my friend. xPenx

  2. This was wonderful, but sad. Reminded me of friendships that I hoped would never end, but were led down separate paths. It wasn’t that the paths we picked were wrong, they were just different. That friendship was unwoven, but later those threads were woven into something better.
    There was a sadness to this, but at the same time there a positive feeling about it. I’ll never understand the writer’s mind, I just know that they bring words to life. Very, very good!

    • Sometimes the way we plan our lives and friendships change before we realize it. I agree with you that paths often go in different directions. We have choices to make and one choice leads us to the next. Thank you for your comments. Visit again and if you’re in KC stop by and chat. May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

