Troubled Sleep


The Zarn's spacecraft rests in the Mist Marsh.

Image via Wikipedia

When dreams
carry me far,

Connecting
life’s reality to distant star,

It is then I
find answers to my fears,

Or discover
what I hold dear,

Lost
memories stroll two and three,

Reminding me
how it used to be,

Am I awake
or in a dream,

Caught
forever in a wayward scheme,

My needs, my
wants, my heart’s desires,

Struggling
between ice and raging fires,

My fantasies
are not long to keep,

As I drift
back into troubled sleep,

My muse tugs
impatiently at my mind,

“Wake
up! There are worlds to find,

Time is
fleeting as you sleep,

And you have
promises to keep,

Stories that
have risen from the deep,

Must be
captured for the world to keep,

You don’t
really need to sleep,”

Weary from
travels within my head,

Miserably I
stumble from my bed,

No reason to
argue with my muse,

That’s a
battle I always lose,

For gentle
thoughts become a crowd,

Their cries
to be heard grow very loud,

And where is
this wisp called sleep,

It was released
early, not mine to keep.

6 thoughts on “Troubled Sleep

Leave a Reply

