“I’ll Promise You This”


Primavera, Spring, made in 1638, part of a ser...

Image via Wikipedia

A cloudburst
in summer,

Soaked to
the skin,

My heart is
melting,

“Won’t you
please let me in?”

A blizzard
in winter,

I’m frozen
to the core,

My love is
ready,

“Won’t you
open the door?”

The flaming leaves
of autumn,

Are starting
to fall,

How long
must I wait,

“Don’t you
love me at all?”

When the
birds are returning,

At the
greening of spring,

I’ll tell
you, “I love you,”

And give you
a ring,

My heart is
broken,

But I’ll
promise you this,

I’ll dance
at your wedding,

And give you
a kiss,

If my dreams
were real,

As real as
could be,

I’d enjoy
the four seasons,

Having you
here with me.

One thought on ““I’ll Promise You This”

Leave a Reply

