Suffering


English: Vladimir Bystrov. 2006 Russian Premie...
Image via Wikipedia

Suffering is
unique for me and you,

I haven’t experienced
what you’re going through,

I don’t know
the depth of your pain,

Be patient,
I’m trying your perspective to gain,

 

The
migraines that don’t allow you to stand,

I’ve never
experienced them and I don’t understand,

I’m trying
my best to know what to do,

I don’t have
answers for the agony you go through,

 

I’m trying
to ponder who handles suffering well,

Is it
someone who’s already seen one side of hell,

Someone who’s
had everything taken away,

And still
smile and say, “It’s a wonderful day!”

Or a person
with cancer who continues to pray,

“Thank you,
Lord, for each bonus day,”

 

I told my children,
“In life you’ll have choices,

Surround
yourself with those who have wise voices,”

And when you
run and scrape your knee,

To ease your
pain right there I’ll be,

 

Bad things
might happen so learn to be tough,

Because life
isn’t perfect, it can be rough,

I can’t fix
your problems but I can ease your pain,

And I’ll be
there to help you get up again,”

 

I wonder if
my answers match my own life,

Do my
answers hold true when I face strife,

Do I blame
someone when life knocks me down,

What part of
my misery is shared with those around,

 

Did my bad
choices create my own pain,

Does my anguish
count for loss or gain,

Is my trouble
because of evil or good,

What part of
my distress is misunderstood,

 

If I use my
own sorrows to help me grow,

I’ll understand
you better for now I know,

If being
there to listen will ease your pain,

I’ll listen
and help you get up again.

 

6 thoughts on “Suffering

Add yours

  1. There’s always someone worse of than you…my Mother used to say Dan, and it’s oh so true… I feel so ashamed sometimes when I moan about a few aches and minor pains, whilst others face each day with unbearable pain, unable to find release. A telling poem my freind. xPenx

  2. Dan, this is what it’s all about. If we all lived this way and loved honestly, we could at least eliminate poverty and make everyday life better for those who are suffering in any way, shape, or form. We all experience pain. . .it’s the common human denominator!

    1. I agree with you. Pain, whether physical or mental anguish, does put us on the same playing rink. Being kind to others and getting away from self pity and ego trips is learned. Most people are not born with compassion.

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

