Halloween Treats


Group of children in a primary school in Paris

Image via Wikipedia

Here’s to excited
children searching for sweets,

On Halloween night there are good things to eat,

Lurking in
the dark strange creatures are stirring,

Lethargy
gone, their minds are whirring,

Only the
pranksters will venture the streets,

While the
rest will be home counting their treats,

Every parent
will know if their children are safe,

Each ghoul
and goblin are counted even the waifs,

No monsters
are allowed in their dreams tonight,

The little ones
might want to leave on the light,

Reading
stories after they’ve been tucked in bed,

Each thought
of candy gone from their head,

All parents
will know how they’ve been blessed,

To see eyes
all closed and the children at rest,

Stretching in
their sleep and smiles on each face,

Sweets for
the sweet, at the right time and place.

3 thoughts on “Halloween Treats

  1. I bought sweets and waited last year Dan, and no-one called round, it must have been a cold night methinks… So I ate the choccies myself.. :-D … (and no, I didn’t take the batteries out of my door bell… now would I? ;-) ) … Fun filled poem my friend. xPenx

    • lol. On Halloween some years I would turn out the lights and sit in the basement until it was all over. Other years I would turn out the lights and sit outside in front of the house with my dogs and hand out candy, if there was someone brave enough to approach. Since i rarely eat candy I would have to hunt kids down to give the candy away. Demented I was…but then that was before my lunacy worsened. Now I have no dogs but I sit outside with monsters and witches and toast the night. My neighbors are also crazy. You’d enjoy the whole lot.

Leave a Reply

