She Gave Me a Chance


Smile 2

Image via Wikipedia

She stood there,

Leaning against the
wall,

Smiling at us all,

Her black dress,

Clung to her ripe
shape,

All I could do was sit
and gape,

I was mesmerized,

I wanted to ask her
out,

But I was filled with
fear and doubt,

She moved towards me,

Her eyes intent, this
was my chance,

To ask her to the
homecoming dance,

Her auburn hair,

Cascaded down and
framed her face,

While I stared numbly
into space,

How could words elude
me,

When there was so much I
needed to say,

My heart was ready but
my tongue got in my way,

 I stuttered, I stammered,

My heart began to
pound,

I smiled, and then the
right words I found,

What magic did she
possess,

That kept me under
duress,

She was beautiful, I
confess,

She was patiently
waiting still,

And I gave her my
biggest grin,

Life was good and my
confidence soared within,

“Would you, could you,

Give my heart a chance,

And go with me to the
Homecoming dance?”

She was trembling,

Obviously she had felt
my stress,

She smiled with relief
and said, “Yes!”

We were young,

And that moment was our
start,

What better way to
connect heart to heart,

We fell in love,

And found true romance,

I was thankful she gave
me a chance,

She was bold,

Our grandkids will be
told,

How she loved me and
gave me a chance.

 

4 thoughts on “She Gave Me a Chance

    • Wish I could remember a few of those twists and turns. Indeed, young love.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

