Letting Go


Heart
Image via Wikipedia

Why am I holding
on to life and love,

Didn’t I
learn my lesson long ago,

Didn’t I see
this coming right at me,

How can I say
I didn’t know,

 

As an infant
I clutched my mother’s breast,

Feeling
secure with nothing to fear,

It was there
that I learned best,

Love made
all things seem so clear,

 

As a
teenager my heart was fickle,

Love had not
learned to bloom and grow,

And in my dreams
all went right,

Love was controllable
and pliable like dough,

 

In my dreams
I climbed a mountain slope,

My ropes
keeping me safe from the world below,

Yet it was
difficult to know,

Why I needed
to learn how to let go,

 

As a
teenager my heart was fickle,

Love had not
learned to bloom and grow,

And in my world
all went right,

Until my
heart suffered another blow,

 

I thought
love would always be grand,

But….I did
not know how to let go,

Unrealistic
expectations changed my path,

Because love was not pliable like dough,

 

When I grew
older and fell in love,

I was
vulnerable to love’s ebb and flow,

My heart was
broken when I was left all alone,

I’d never
learned how to let go,

 

Relationships
were tricky and difficult to learn,

I became
afraid to do more than just exist,

My heart was
heavy, I had lost again,

I marked
another zero on my list,

 

When my
children graduated from school,

Leaving me
with an empty nest,

I wasn’t
ready to let them know,

That I might
never be happy to see them go,

 

When my
parents passed to a world beyond,

Who could I
ask when I didn’t know,

I was next
on the list of love and life,

Should I get
ready to let life go,

 

What parts
of love were within my grasp,

What parts
of love could I not clasp,

Time slipped
by so quickly I never did know,

When I
should hold on and when I should let go.

2 thoughts on “Letting Go

Add yours

    1. I don’t fear letting go. But I’ll dance as long as I can stand.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

