Trapped Inside


True Love Couple

Image via Wikipedia

I don’t know
how to say what I feel,

I’ve been
alone way too long,

But when you
are near,

The world
seems more clear,

I forget all the things that went wrong,

 

You’ll never
know I’ve changed my view,

Unless I
share my heart,

You’ll see
my pride fall,

As I tear
down the wall,

And change
things that drove us apart,

 

I’m afraid that you’ll say it’s too late,

That love
has shriveled and died,

If my worst
fears are true,

And I’ve
really lost you,

Then my love
will be trapped inside,

 

If I stammer
and stall, break down and cry,

Look at the
words waiting in my eyes,

What you
really mean to me,

Will be easy
for you to see,

There will
not be a place for lies,

 

What have I
done to make you cry?

You say they’re
tears of happiness,

Your arms
are opened wide,

I’ve finally
swallowed my pride,

You’ve
waited so long for this,

 

The world is
not always about me,

Please be
patient as I grow,

I’ll learn
to listen and confide,

I don’t want
my love trapped inside,

I want a
river of love to flow,

 

I’m glad I
had a second chance,

To tell you
how much I care,

My heart
knows it is true,

Just how
much I missed you,

And I’ll
love you forever, I swear.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Trapped Inside

  1. Dan, I loved the poem and your about me section. Explore and soar away my friend! It’s never too late for us “old” people to pursue our passions. Thanks for the pingback too. I really appreciate it. Blessings and peace, Terri

    • As always you’re right on target with your astute comments. Thanks, dear one, for stopping by.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

