Three Love Letters (of a different kind)


Venus and Mars with Cupid
Image via Wikipedia

Dear Sir:

Your love
account is overdrawn and all privileges have been withdrawn.  You have six days to bring your account to a
positive balance in order to remain in good standing.  We do appreciate your business but please
understand that future attempts at love will be rebuffed and returned.  If you have any questions or want to share
your views, please contact us quickly.

Signed,

The love gurus,

Venus, Cupid, Eros

 

Dear Love
Gurus:

I tried to
explain that my love life,

Had been
filled with failures and strife,

After
several relationships were done,

I thought, “I’m
not having fun,”

Struggling
with my own misconceptions and love wary,

I decided to
write a book titled, “Love is Scary”,

Who better
than me to write about what could go wrong,

Accepted and
rejected, and suffering for so long,

I knew how
to build walls around my hardened heart,

Allowing no
place for new love to ever start,

My book
would have many chapters to write,

So don’t
expect me to finish it in just one night,

But if I ever
open another account to share,

Please be
advised I’d have love to spare.

Sincerely,

Heartbroken

 

I received
another letter today, and it’s plain to see that things might go my way. This
time I’ll pay attention to things that matter, because I don’t want another
love to shatter.

 

 

Dear Sir:

We
understand your recent relationship has gone sour,

But we’re prepared to make an offer this very
hour.

If your old love is still in good condition,

And you’d
like to upgrade to a current edition,

We have just
received trade-ins we selected,

They’ve
hardly been loved, perhaps all have been neglected,

All with very low mileage and require little
maintenance,

To get back into the game, this is your
chance,

With a fresh
coat of paint and new trim,

She’ll be
revitalized, also sleek and slim,

These models
are spotless, so much cleaner,

They’ll all
be parked where the grass is greener,

Now as for
you, in order to get your price,

You’ll have
to do some of your own sacrifice,

Work out and
get yourself in shipshape form,

Bring
yourself up to the loving norm,

Treat her
well, better than a friend,

Because if
you don’t, she’ll trade you in.

Sincerely,

The Love
Gurus,

Venus,
Cupid, Eros

 

Their last
letter gave me reason to ponder, perhaps I could learn to be so much fonder, if
I turned my heart loose and let it fly free, love might choose to stay with
me.  It’s merely a thought, a dream or a
hope, but it’s a chance for love to thrive and cope.

 

4 thoughts on “Three Love Letters (of a different kind)

Add yours

  1. I like this, Dan. I was smiling the whole while, reading it. Carefree and creative and not an unlikely thought with all the matchmaking going on today. I still like the flying free.

    1. Poetry, stories, life’s major problems all get in the mix. Flying free is one of the escapes. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. If I can create a picture or situation that can bring a smile to someone, especially you, then I have accomplished one goal. If you remember the poem or story later and pass it on then I’m delighted.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

