Expressions of All Sorts


P1010582

Image by The Consortium via Flickr

“I’ve never
painted whispers,” the wizened man said,

”I’ve
painted snickers, smirks, and odd smiles,

And a few
frowns that were handed down,

But
whispers?” he carefully scratched his head,

 

“Oh, but I’ve
drawn a few curses screamed aloud,

Maybe that
will make up for the difference,

I don’t want
to be thought to have less than all,

I thought I
had captured every expression in the crowd,”

 

“Oh, no, you
missed some,”  so wisely  I proclaimed,

“Besides
whispers there are snorts, expressions of all sorts,

I don’t
think you saw with clarity in the great hall,

For you
missed the silent scream, and you will be blamed,”

 

“You’ll never
paint again, your reputation was at stake,”

I looked at
him with practiced disdain, a withering look,

But he
ignored me, painting my expression rapidly,

Refusing to
let me see, “Sir that would be a mistake,”

 

“Whatever
expression I draw the owner is doomed to wear,

There is
magical power in what I paint,

If you saw
this painting you might faint,

So be
careful with the words you choose to swear,”

 

“So you dare
threaten me, the king’s own son,”

I laughed
loudly, a horselaugh, and called for the guards,

But they
approached and fled, then left me alone,

And in a
mirror I could see the wizened man had won,

 

“So if you
are wondering why behind a curtain I hide,

While I tell
you of a man who didn’t paint whispers,

Let’s just
say I’ve learned to treat others with respect,

And I keep
any rude facial expressions inside.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Expressions of All Sorts

  1. Intrigued by the idea of painting whispers and what that means to you. Nicely done. Another little morality play. Readable. Engaging. Nice work as always, Dan. Thank you for sharing it here.

    Blessings …

  2. What a beautifully evocative statement “I’ve never painted whispers” is. You engage all my senses and sent my imagination soaring. Too many people miss the screams especially the silent ones. Too many people are suffering mutely. I feel like you gave the silent scream a voice.

Leave a Reply

