If I’m Only a Watcher


Modern Guilt
Image via Wikipedia

With sadness
I watch passersby,

From my
window day and night,

Going about
their daily deeds,

Not
understanding their own plight,

But I cannot
call them to shame,

For deeds
they did not do,

For my guilt
is also to blame,

If I’m a
watcher too,

If they
ignore world events,

Or crimes
next to their door,

If I’m
judging what they’ve not done,

Then I’m
even guilty more,

I turned my
head when a baby cried,

Her mother was
angry and proud,

The mother had
given the child a pinch,

Because the
baby was too loud,

I didn’t
speak when a father ordered,

His son to
fetch a beer,

But I could
see a future day,

When the son
would cringe with fear,

Who am I to
ignore world events,

Or crimes
next to my door,

If I’m judging what others haven’t done,

Then I’m the
guilty more.

 

30 thoughts on “If I’m Only a Watcher

Add yours

    1. Sometimes I feel as if I’m not doing anything for others. While in that mood this poem jumped out.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. Thanks. Just a little guilt I’ve got to leave somewhere.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. Ji, I try. I’ll do what I can although your comments are praise enough. When you say please contribute I call on my muse and she wrinkles up her nose just a bit and says, “Dan, we can do it. You write and I’ll tell you what to say.” And then we’re off, and I write furiously, taking down story or poem as she dictates. We like to complete the task without having to use older work, although we could touch on the same subject. So ask if I haven’t contributed.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. I’m glad I stirred up a thought or two. Thanks for commenting.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. Or we could Mind Our Own Business and let bad things continue. That’s what the watcher inside says.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  1. This has prompted a great deal of thought from me as I, too, have dealt with this very same thing. My guilt comes from the judgement end but beyond, too. My body, my being, is prompted to intervene subtly and in a breath, a moment, that pause; that outsider cooing to a baby or dashing to retrieve the beer before the child gets there might give pause without a word being spoken to the perpetrator. What I would do in a moment of imminent danger I do not know. Can an evil spell be broken or a short break cause a change? I do not know the answer to that. Strong. Very strong poem. Thank you for sharing, Dan.

    1. When we don’t know what to do, is it best to MYOB or speak out? Perhaps that was why I was watching.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

      1. I agree about that. When one does not know what to do, it could escalate the transgression. I am not sure it is in the speaking but the diversion . ..and there is always that about not being sure of ourselves and where to draw the line.

      2. It’s the unknowing what to do, being socially correct, that holds my feet in place and keeps my heart from flying.

        May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. I’m only writing about it so I’m still a watcher. The poem reminds me to get up and get going.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. Those that act for the good are called heroes. Those who act for the bad are called villians. Those who don’t act have other names.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  2. I think we can all be accused of being watchers Dan, life is such a painful mix sometimes., we hesitate in case we’ve misunderstood somehow, and by then it’s usually too late. In Britain we’ve seen so often Social Workers who have ignored signs of abuse, and if they, in their supposed professional ability to spot such wrongs, make these life destroying mistakes how are we to judge a scenario we’ve seen? Heartbreaking and true worded poem, my friend. xPenx

  3. walking the city streets
    I feed on the tales
    of eyes passing me
    failing to

    probe
    connect
    assimilate

    to a lost embrace
    wanting to touch
    the bitter sadness
    of those that looked away

  4. It’s hard to know when one should leave off a role as watcher, because we cannot solve all of the world’s problems; you capture this dilemma thoughtfully.

  5. What a sharp communication of wisdom of what canhappen to our soul when we pay attention to another person’s energy, we give the power of our own energy away to the painful consciousness experiences of others and this can cause imbalance in our own light. What a compassionate conveyance of the human nature of watching others because it is only human. And a very beautiful and simple communication in poetry!

    1. I like your take on the poem. I didn’t consider all the ramifications like you did. Thanks for your thought provokiing comments. Sometimes I feel inspired to write a poem but I need to read it later to see what I was led to say.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  6. Sharp write–like a tack in the seat of my pants. I know my first instinct in these situations is just to freeze (the dumbest thing to do). My sister was attacked by a dog and all I could do was look on in horror as the world bled around me.

    1. I’ve had many moments that I could have done something, but instead I only watched. If I don’t act, I can use words to express what I should have done.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

