Loving You Like This


Milano, Italy

Image via Wikipedia

I didn’t
intend to let love in,

I thought
there would be too much pain,

Yet my heart
spread wide its arms,

So love’s
favor I could gain,

 

I was
pleasantly surprised the day we met,

How completely
I was attracted to you,

My love kept
growing stronger yet,

And I was
glad when you said, “I do,”

 

Long ago you
told me you were plain,

But I smiled as you slept naked beside me,

Like a fawn
shaking off the summer rain,

You shivered
and goose bumps I could see,

 

Now as I
hold you I still disagree,

I’ll cover
you, but not without a twinge of regret,

For I love
every part that I see,

And I’ll
cherish every moment I can get,

 

I brush
strands of hair from your face,

“You’re beautiful,” I whisper in the dark,

And to plant a kiss I find a place,

Hoping that
kiss might stir a spark,

 

I still
yearn to hold your many charms,

You might
not hear the words I say,

Those simple words that only my head knows,

Are laden
with love and might betray,

 

How much my
heart with passion overflows,

I grin
again, already missing your sweet kiss,

I don’t want
to rush life, I want to take life slow,

Because I
want to go on loving you like this.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Loving You Like This

    • If someone hasn’t written beautiful words to you, he should have. Someone is out there waiting for you. And when that lucky man sees you, two hearts find each other, and a story or poem is born.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  1. A wonderful poem, Dan., brings to life the love that can burn between two people. So lovely to read and experience the way you draw pictures in the mind with your words. xPenx

    • I like to write about what could or should happen, different from my own reality.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

