Death Is Waiting


Death found an author writing his life.. Desig...

Image via Wikipedia

Death is waiting for me,

But it’s not time yet,

He is peering through the
veil,

But I’m not set,

He’s visited me over the
years,

Called my name,

Tried to convince me,

To play his game,

But I had too much to do,

Death had to wait,

Until I finished my
earthly tasks,

Then I’d enter death’s
gate,

See where the curtain has
ripped?

He stares at me,

But I do not fear death’s
gaze,

For I cannot be,

Part of his entourage,

No, not today,

He’ll have to wait behind the veil,

I’m going to stay,

Try to complete my list of
things to do,

Until my final breath,

When my list is done, I’ll
welcome,

The spectre called death.

 

8 thoughts on “Death Is Waiting

    • When it’s time to say goodbye, okay. Until then, I won’t go easy. You’re not going without me. Friends to the end.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  1. Love the stand you take in this, Dan, staring down death and defiant and determined. I believe you will do just that, too, stare him down and finish what it is you came here to do. Good poem.

    • Well, that’s my plan. Hopefully, I’ll hold out. I don’t want to cave in out of loneliness.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    • Gotta face death sometime and face it without fear. Some days I get up and say, “Bring it on, come what may!”

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

      • Why worry about death when I have always had that shadow attached. Death now seems more like a silent friend, waiting around for the end. But until then, ….life and I have a few more rounds, and I’ll walk in the light, keeping the shadow at bay.

        May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

