“Hush!”


Cover of "Born Free"

Cover of Born Free

Hush! Hear
the meadowlark as he welcomes the dawn?

Wait! The
robin is listening as she hops across the lawn,

The day is
breaking,

Nature is
waking,

 

But, oh, Nature
is so slow,

Because you know,

There was a
full moon last night,

And down by
the river in the moonlight,

 

There was music
that people rarely hear,

Forest critters
from far and near,

Came to listen
to Nature’s Bad Band,

The finest
music in all the land,

 

I didn’t
want to interrupt the music, you see,

That’s why I
hid high in a tall oak tree,

The amazing
performance opened with Benny Bunny,

I wish I had
my camera because he sure was funny,

 

He got the
audience warmed up and ready to go,

“Okay, folks,
are you ready for the show?”

He gave the
audience a poke,

With his
first joke,

And soon
they were laughing out loud,

Wow! What a
crowd!

 

The musicians
went to the center of the group,

Announced “Nature’s
Bad Band” as the name of their troupe,

And started
right in trying to please the crowd,

Music so
special it made everyone proud,

 

Bubba bear
played cello,

Everything
he did was very mellow,

Dave Deer
got the audience on their feet,

Because “Devil
went Down to Georgia” can’t be discreet,

 

Patty Puma
on lead guitar,

Played a
rock version of “Twinkle, twinkle, little star”,

Then she
opened up the night,

With two
tracks of her new album, “Cat Fight!”

 

The audience
shouted, “More!”

It certainly
was worth an encore,

Ollie Opossum
got his trumpet talking,

Gertie Gator
on drums had everyone’s feet walking,

 

Then Randy
Raccoon played clarinet as sweet as honey,

The soulful
sounds brought tears to eyes and made noses runny,

Willie Wolf
sang songs that were a tribute to his late father,

A howling
success, well worth the bother,

 

After a
short break when all got quiet,

There was an
announcement “TO Hold On Tight”,

Frog Went Courting
followed by “Blue Moon”,

Got the
males stirred up and the ladies in a swoon,

 

Lots of
styles, big moments, wailing the blues,

I could tell
this group has paid their dues,

They ended the
night with “Born Free”,

With the
audience swaying, singing along, tired and happy,

 

The audience
scattered and went back to their homes,

Places known
only to them, faeries, and gnomes,

So hush! Now
that the sun is glaring down,

You won’t
see many critters dancing around,

 

They’re
tired and willing to let the day fade,

While they
rest peacefully in the shade,

But when
that first star pops out tonight,

The musicians
will want to grab the lime light,

 

“Listen! I can hear them tuning their instruments in the hollow,

You can come
too if you’ll quietly follow,

I think you’ll
really like what you hear,

Let’s go now
before the crowd appears.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on ““Hush!”

    • It was a poem just for fun. I’l try to have something serious for the next rally.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  1. This is so cute “Blue Moon” great choice for the frogs! I miss the music of the country at night in the city is obnoxious vehicles and right now psycho birds because its summer which means they don’t get much sleep

    • I only used the names of the songs I was sure they played. I didn’t recognize all of their tunes. Psycho birds would be a story in itself.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  2. Wonderful, Dan, as you told it, so I saw it, all those animals in Natures Band, and a magic time was had by all, even us ‘guest’ watchers to the get together. 😀 xPenx

    • I’m hoping for a serious poem by Friday. Playful doesn’t quite stir people up unless it’s a real story with emotions involved. So I’m stirring and trying to see what I can find.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    • It was a bit on the lighter side. When everything seems to be going wrong in real life, bring out the inner child and have some fun. Your comments made writing it all worthwhile. Thank you for your encouragement.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  3. Hey Dan the Man! Your creations are fabulous! This was enjoyable and oh, adorable! Watch out, Disney may come after you!! Have a great day. I loved this poem! And thanks for visiting my blog again and posting such a lovely poem comment! I really appreciated it! Cindy

    • Cindy, You’re always welcome and your comments appreciated. I enjoy visiting your blog and finding out what’s new, how you’re being blessed, etc. Disney or Dreamworks here I come!

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  4. Dan, this is darling. Good for big and little kids.

    I was attracted at first when scrolling by the “Born Free” cover. When I was in high school I loved everything born free and in my yearbook it says that was my favorite song.

    Thanks for a nice comforting poem tonight, Dan, and for your visits and poems on my site. Everyone loves them, not just me.

    • Jamie, you’re very welcome. I have fun responding to the great poems and posts on your blog. I can be serious, or try to be funny, and still believe you’ll like me anyway. And you accept my poetry and stories, however flawed they are. Now that you’ve disclosed your love for “Born Free” I’ll have to use it as a prompt. Not the next two or three though–got to finish a couple of family westerns, and a couple of advice poems. I know you were thinking “How could someone with such a screwed up life give advice?” Simple: Mistakes create experience. Experience creates wisdom. So the more mistakes I made the wiser I got. At least that’s the way I tell it.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

