“The Man With the Iron Fists”


John Wayne / Gail Russell

Image by twm1340 via Flickr

A quiet sleepy
town somewhere out west,

Was being frightened
and overrun,

By some mean
son-of-a-guns,

So the city
council sent off a request,

 

“We need a
few men who will stand tall,

And save our
poor town,

From hellions
who’ve put us down,”

There was one
reply from out of them all,

 

It only
said, “A good fight I can’t resist,

I’m headin’
out today,

I’ll do
things my way,”

Signed, “The
Man With the Iron Fists,”

 

A few weeks later a stranger rode into town,

He was rough
around the collar,

Looking like
he had spent his last dollar,

He glanced at
me with a road-weary frown,

 

“Could you direct
me to a place with a bath?

I’m tired,
and I think I might stink,

I hope there’s
someplace to drink,

And then the
bad guys will feel my wrath,”

 

I looked at
him and I started to grin,

“You’re all
alone to save the day,

And make the
bad guys go away?

We were
expecting maybe nine or ten,”

 

“There are no others,” he said,

“I’m mean
and rough,

And you know
very tough,

Those
varmints all took off and fled,”

 

“Excuse me,
sir, “I interrupted to say,

“That mean
hombre that’s on the run,

The one with
notches on his gun,

He’s not
coming here today?”

 

“I said what
I mean,” he spat to the side,

“I warned
them fair and square,

If they
stayed they’d be sucking air,

Anyone left
will have holes in his hide!”

 

“Uh, sir, I
know you’ve got true grit,

But even now
as we speak,

The man with
scars on his cheek,

He’s not the
kind to go hightailin’ it,”

 

“Listen son,
I don’t intend to be rude,

Those
gunslingers know what’s best,

They know I’m
the scourge of the west,

So don’t
bother me, before I get crude,”

 

“One more
question, sir, if you don’t mind,

Did you see
my aunt Grace?

You were
checking out her lace,

Was there something you were hoping to find?”

 

Now this
hunk of a man got red in the face,

I knew he
was rough and tough,

But around
her he was a cream puff,

Because he
was already smitten with Aunt Grace,

 

“Go away,
son, and I’ll give you a dime,

Those
scoundrels might be back,

Slipping
around some shack,

And I don’t
want to waste my time,”

 

“Around
supper time tell Grace I’ll be there,

I’ve got to
check on those fellows,

Make sure
they’re still being yellow,

And tell her
to please let down her hair,”

 

Now Aunt Grace
is the town’s school teacher,

So through
windows and curtains,

Everybody
was watching and certain,

That it was
gittin’ time to call the preacher,

 

Later I confided to them that Grace had been
kissed,

The town
decided with that out of the way,

The marriage
should happen the next day,

Between
Grace and the man with iron fists,

 

The ceremony
went well, including the I Do’s,

The bad guys
stayed away,

They arrived
another day,

But that’s another
story, Part Two.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on ““The Man With the Iron Fists”

    • Thanks. I tried giving it the old western movie flavor. I’m glad you approve.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

