“Skipping Pebbles Through Life”


discover your destiny

Skipping Pebbles

One day as I
traveled through the woods,

I saw an
ancient man sitting by a pond,

I wanted
directions to leave the woods behind,

But he challenged
me to think beyond,

“It’s easy
to get lost in the woods,” he said,

“Where do
you want to be?”

“I’m off to
make my mark on the world,

And discover
my destiny,”

His eyes
glowed with a strange fire,

As he smiled
and replied with a deep sigh,

“You’re
young, with so much to learn,

But I know
you need to try,”

With a grand
gesture he pointed to the pond,

“I’ll show
you what a pebble can teach,

About your
impact on the world,

And all
those goals you think you’ll reach,”

“First, don’t
think you’re so important,

You’re like
a pebble dropped in a pond,

See the
rings this pebble made?

Just listen
quietly before you respond,”

“Your
influence spreads outward,

Making several
concentric rings,

Your impact
lasts just a short while,

Before the angels sing,”

“What if I
am flat and make several skips?

I’ll cover
more area on my way,

There are
several places where I’ll touch,

Leaving several
circles on display,”

“But what
difference will you really make?

Look, as I skip
this stone across the pond,

See the
rings that are left behind?

Now they are
going, going, gone,”

“Just like
life’s fleeting ambitious dreams,

They’re here
for the moment but gone in a flash,

Goals that
you accomplish only for yourself,

Are
forgotten after the splash,”

“But a
pebble you throw for someone else,

Becomes more
than a rock you fling,

It allows
them to rise above the pond,

And helps them
find their wings,”

“So as you
go to discover your destiny,

Remember the
pebbles tossed across the pond,

And the
ripples they leave behind,

If you want
to leave a mark you have to reach beyond,”

“And help
others become more than they are,

Allow them
to dream of love and things,

To escape
that which holds them down,

And fly with
new-found wings,”

He waved
goodbye as I started forth,

A purpose showing
in each step,

I promised
to help others fly above,

And it’s a
promise I have kept,

Now when I
look across a pond,

And see the
surface smooth as glass,

I feel
within me there is a skipping stone,

But calmly I
let the moment pass,

There are
opportunities to make my splash,

And I could
make my world, all about me,

But I’ve
chosen to lift others up,

That is my
chosen destiny.

12 thoughts on ““Skipping Pebbles Through Life”

Add yours

    1. Thanks for your kind words. Glad you stopped by. The welcome mat is always out.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. Thanks, dear Pen, and may your stone skip even further, rippling the lives of all those who love you.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  1. Allow them
    to dream of love and things,

    To escape
    that which holds them down,

    And fly with
    new-found wings,”

    I know such a aman ( i knew i should say) And i today realize how importand yet difficult it is to be so !

    1. It’s always difficult to understand how someone can become hardened to the love that surrounds them. I’ve discovered much about myself by being alone. I don’t like it but I’ve learned to deal with it. I wish you happiness and love. dan

    1. Jamie, your posts are easy to write about. They’re full of wonderful information and your poetry is stunning. I’m sorry when I miss saying something.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  2. The structure of your poetry and this poem in particular was really a joy to read, very engaging. It is simple truth and very beautiful and is great content not only for yourself but for us too!

    1. I appreciate your comments. Your encouragement helps focus my direction as to what I should write. Prayers are also welcome.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

