Before You Were Born


Mother's Day

Image via Wikipedia

She Loved You Before You Were Born!

Month after month she revels in the thought,

That her body contains what love had wrought,

She knows the changes that are taking place,

Features are forming, a beating heart, fingers and face,

Her own body is adjusting for new growth as well,

Preparing a temporary home for this life to dwell,

But most of all are the effects on her heart,

Forming emotional attachments right from the start,

Her heart is rapidly expanding as her child grows,

Her life will be changed forever as she already knows,

Her love will continue growing after the baby arrives,

Whatever happens around her, her love thrives,

She has loved you long before she knew your name,

Knowing the pain to come she wanted you the same,

Her love has developed and matured in every way,

For a mother’s love does not spring forth in a day,

When the delivery is over and she holds you in her arms,

She smiles and rambles on about your many charms,

Unconditional love that radiates about the room,

Unconditional love that dispels pain and gloom,

Finding inner strength she wasn’t aware she had,

Born of labor and love, she wanted a miracle so bad,

You are still that miracle, walking around on display,

The day you were born was her special Mother’s Day!

5 thoughts on “Before You Were Born

  1. A great tribute to Mothers everywhere Dan, and my mother was one in a million, (but I suppose everyone thinks that about their own mothers. 😉 ) … Many thanks for your words of comfort about My Girl, greatly appreciated my friend, and helped enormously. xPenx

    • I’m sure your mother was extra special. It’s clear she raised a fine daughter. So sorry about Bess, and any words of comfort I can give, let me know. Dan

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  2. Beautiful … totally stunning .. and so touching …

    And Dan ,, I can never get boredof your blog .. I am just getting not much tiem to read 😐
    I see a looong post next to this one ..hope soon I will read that too 🙂

    • Time is one of my concerns too. It passes so quickly and I get so far behind. You know, writing, cleaning the house, etc. When I was a single parent I used to lament, “A man’s work is never done,” just to irritate my female coworkers. Since I worked two or three jobs all the time while raising my three children, it was true. Now I’m alone but have little to show for my time. Now I’m more of a slacker. Read when you have the time, but for sure continue writing your beautiful poems.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

