You Weren’t On My Schedule


Russian Orthodox Easter ceremony in Lvov (West...

Image via Wikipedia

I passed you today as I took my morning walk,

You looked cold and hungry but I didn’t want to talk,

I was looking up, you were looking down,

I was wearing a smile, you were wearing a frown,

I didn’t take the time to ask you what was wrong,

I was In the middle of humming a very special song,

I couldn’t be interrupted, for I had too much to do,

But I promised to ask sometime what was bothering you,

No, not next week, for there are things I have booked,

I checked my schedule in case anything’s been overlooked,

“How are you?”, “I’m fine,” but I really didn’t have time to chat,

I had people to see and things to do, you know, this and that,

I was eager to share my world with someone, but no, not now,

You took away my joy because you were in my way somehow,

You looked awful, perhaps struggling to find something to say,

But when tears rolled down your cheeks, you nearly ruined my day,

“Good grief!” I muttered, but I know I wasn’t being rude,

I chose to be patient because I wanted to keep my good mood,

 “Shape up, I don’t have time for this,” I snapped in dismay,

“Oh, my!”  You were looking sad and putting on a display,

“I don’t care what your problem is, you’ll just have to wait,”

“I’ve got to go and smile at folks, and now you’ve made me late!”

I rushed away, leaving you behind, despair plainly on your face,

I was hoping you’d find someplace else, be gone without a trace,

When I returned you weren’t there, much to my relief,

I didn’t want to see you again or put up with your grief,

 Life is short and there was so much I still needed to do,

Did you expect me to waste my time, on someone like you?

Outside the sun is bright, what a beautiful Easter day,

Yet inside my joy is false, I feel shame for my deceptive ways,

When you were hungry and in pain, I wasn’t there for you,

I was thinking just about myself, and all the things to do,

I cheated you by turning away, I should have listened with my heart,

Yesterday won’t come again, so I’m asking for a brand new start,

I really want to love others more, wherever they might be,

The best way that I know how, is to begin with you and me.

9 thoughts on “You Weren’t On My Schedule

    • I hope it’s not too late for me to get smart. Thanks for your encouragement, dear friend.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  1. “I passed you today” said it all for me. Just the word “passed”. Bless you for the simple lessons you remind us of through your poetry, Dan. We often overlook the impact of our ways. Thank you for the reminder.

  2. A new start, always there in our minds, if only we could start afresh we’d do it all so differently. We only need the one chance to see who and what we are, and find ourselves by our actions. Wonderful poem, Dan, a lesson to beware of our own impatience with regards to others. Many thanks for your comments, my friend, regarding my Bess, very, very much appreciated….xx Pen xx

    • Over the years I’ve had wonderful experiences with my own dogs and also dealt with tragedies. Pets and owners bond sometimes closer than with human companions. Enjoy Bess for as long as you can. This is the season to enjoy. When it’s the season to grieve, I’ll grieve with you. Thanks for your comments regarding my poem. Take care, dear friend.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    • Sometimes I learn from my own messages as well as from the poems/messages from others. I’m often anxious to see what angels/muses have given. Bless you on your journey and thanks for stopping.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  3. We had arrived extremely happy to disclose associated with web-site.I want towards due as part of behalf of your energy around the care with the magical impute you can!! My hubby and i certainly having every last website next to nothing trace of the usb ports and share individuals bookmarked as their favorite on through real bushy-tailed personal belongings your business article.

Leave a Reply

