“Nothing But the Truth!”


Coffee icon
Image via Wikipedia

I raised my right hand and said,

“I swear to tell the truth, the whole truth,

And nothing but the truth,”

The bailiff stopped me, I had just begun,

“We don’t do that anymore, son,

There’s no need to plant that seed,

We try to assume no one lies in truth or deed,

“Then why are we here?” my voice loud and strong,

Isn’t somebody being tried because he did wrong?”

Contempt of court!” the judge roared my way,

“Lock him up, for a week and a day,

He’s prejudiced this trial, I’ll tell you why,

We wanted to find out who would lie,”

I should have been quiet, like I usually do,

I didn’t realize just what havoc would ensue,

“Judge, I have the answer, I surely do,

Anyone who moves their lips, is lying too,”

His face was distorted, he mopped his face,

“I don’t think you have a clue about this place,”

He rolled his narrowed eyes before he said,

“I wish I was a king and I’d say off with his head,”

Instead he sentenced me to a day and a year,

My lawyer explained until the message was clear,

“Justice is blind, and the law is ruthless,

We challenge each person as if he were truthless,”

“See this coffee cup?” He pointed to the one in his hand,

“I’m going to ask you questions until you understand,

Answer the questions truthfully, and do your best,

When I am finished, there will be a short test,”

He chuckled gleefully, “This is as easy as falling off a log,

I’ll lead you to the conclusion this cup is a frog,”

“But what about the truth?” I asked with some doubt,

“Forget the truth,” he snapped, “we want all the facts out!

We want evidence, arguments, burdens of proof,

When it’s all verified we’ll come out with some truth,”

I shook my head, “If a liar tells the truth, will someone believe?

Or if someone normally honest lies, will you know he deceives?

Is truth a mixture of reality and imagination, a poet’s dream?

Or is truth stranger than fiction, just as it seems?”

The lawyer scratched his head and started to grin,

“If you were a lawyer, I think you might win,

Lying for a good reason, twisting truth on a case,

If you stretch the facts a little, you’ll build a good base,

If you lead people to a conclusion with your evidence,

You’ll win most of your cases if the juries you convince.”

He patted me on the back and looked me in the eye,

“You should know the truth, when you’re released by and by.

The truth must be outdated,

At least it’s considered overrated,

However you can get by,

Whether you steal, cheat, or lie,

If you can get away with it,

Don’t let it bother you one bit,

When I was just a child,

Perhaps I was just a bit wild,

But Dad took me aside and said,

“This could probably be left unsaid,

But just so you can sleep at night,

Learn to treat folks just right,

Be honest when you give your word,

So they don’t have to guess what they heard,

And if you shake hands to seal a deal,

Remind yourself your word is real,”

Through the years I’ve stayed on track,

And I don’t see a reason for turning back,

I found it true I could sleep at night,

Just because I did things right.

(Part one)

30 thoughts on ““Nothing But the Truth!”

Add yours

    1. You thought your testing message could slip through. LOL. Your place in the world never goes unnoticed. And that’s the truth!

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  1. Oh, and i forgot…i REALLY like this one! ‘…I’ll lead you to the conclusion this cup is a frog…’, and ‘…The truth must be outdated…’, there’s mirth and muse all over the place.

    1. A mixture of mirth and reality. Truth cannot be decided by mankind unless the majority decides. And then there are the troublesome minority opinions and spiritual truths, and and and, then in part two I cover a bit more. I thought about putting out an ad stating “truth wanted” but I was afraid there would be no takers, or there would be and I wouldn’t believe them.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. I know. I’ve tried it a few times. You’re right about the payoff.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  2. Once again Dan, a great story told and a brilliant fact stated- now you know why I have a small group of friends..? LOLss

    I tried but couldn’t change.. Truth is what I stick to! 🙂
    Hugs xox

    1. Ah, but you have friends, great friends. I’m all alone, even the small group is gone. Truth, who can define it?

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

      1. why?

        poets who visit you here are your online friends, I am sure you are missed if you stop visiting us.

        I always enjoyed your encouragements, keep it up.
        you are a cool poetic friend to have.
        🙂

        A+++

      2. I tire easily and some days I struggle with the world. I enjoy all the poets, especially you with your upbeat attitude. Some days I’m just a lonely guy who wants to crawl into a cave and hide. Most of the time I shrug off my doldrums and hurry back. I feel a need to encourage, because I’ve seen too many friends and students simply give up.

        May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  3. Well said, Dan! The whole world may be a lying farce or an honest lot, but if we are true to ourselves (by that, I mean, if we well aware of what we are doing/saying/committing), I think it’s all good.. 🙂
    After all, we really care about ourselves and how well we get to sleep each night.. don’t we now? Be it in a prison or be it in our own homes…

    An awesome piece, my friend!

    1. You’re right on, Kavita. It’s about being true to ourselves and what we know. Thank you for your wisdom.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. You’re right about honesty being rare. Whose word would you trust? I often see warnings posted on the internet about scammers and dishonest people. I think my next poem will cover part of that. I appreciate your comments. As for 100% truth, it’s very difficult to reach and impossible to stay there. I try, but the truth is not always in me. But then as a story teller, if the truth be told completely, the consequences are rough. Trying to tell the total truth just for one day would be stressfull and impossible for most.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  4. I don’t think anybody can tell stories like this as well as you do! You’re an inspiration, my friend.

    Now I am musing about truth. And people’s truth being their own truth and differing from other truths just because they are different people and come from different places. I have a friend from Nogales and her truth as a border woman didn’t match the truth of the rules!

    1. Talk about inspiration! Everyday I see inspirational haikus or stories that stretch me a little or a lot. Thank you for all you do.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    2. Our views on truth change drastically as we grow. Hearing stories from students over the years confirmed much of what I believed. The youngest ones blurted out the truth without thinking of the consequences. The older ones factored in their own roles and who was at fault.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. Thanks, Jamie. I’ve been enjoying all your posts as well as your comments.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

