Your Eyes Speak From the Heart


These Words

Image via Wikipedia

I hear the words you are saying,

     

  

But your eyes talk too.

They tell a different truth.

Your mouth whispers what you want me to hear.

False words of undying love,

Words claiming forever.

Your eyes, your beautiful eyes,

Tell the whole story,

From beginning to end,

With all the details at hand.

Your lips are convincing

But they change their mind,

And move without the truth.

Your eyes, portals to the soul,

Speak from the heart.

They cannot lie,

They separate themselves from excuses,

They speak straight and true.

Oblivious to your silver tongue,

Those orbs contradict the words

That slide so easily from your mouth.

I do not believe your words,

But I believe your eyes,

They speak from the heart.

15 thoughts on “Your Eyes Speak From the Heart

  1. I can really identify with this!

    “But your eyes talk to.
    They tell a different truth.”

    Really liked how you call both the truth and the lie, the “truth”, but differentiated between the two so clearly.

    • Lies have always been with us. Should expect lies to be told. Thanks for your insights. May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    • Would you tell me if you didn’t like a poem? I might grow a different direction if told that. I appreciate the good comments but I don’t always give my poetry proper attention.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

      • Perhaps I look at poems differently from others. The first thing I look for is not style or skill. I look to see if it changes me in some way for the better, if there is wisdom, if it’s human, if it reinforces some of my better values. It is the work of someone’s life lessons and heart and has to first be valued from that perspective … at least that’s my feeling and maybe not one many would agree with.

        I look for authenticity. Does it ring true?

        Then I look at form, style, language, cadence, and flow; but, I always keep in mind that tastes differ and no one is wrong as far as that goes.

        Are your poems always polished. No. Sometimes I think maybe they are still in draft stage and need some rewriting. But then, maybe they are where you want them to be. It’s not for me to say. The vision is yours. Are you poems real and do I walk away a bit better as person? Yes! Sometimes your poems rewrite the reader. That’s what counts.

        We spin the web of art from the silk of spririt and yours is a fine, strong, and true spirit. We are thankful for your friendship and the sharing of your art here.

      • You’re right, Jamie. Some times I write from the heart and they’re hot off the press. I don’t always read them over because if I do I find myself trying for perfection rather than feelings or a message. And often I write for myself, pouring out and scraping my insides. Did I say overthink? No, I think but without the feelings the thoughts grow cold and cutting. I’ve written poems of different styles in the past but I’ve decided that I’m not looking to make people read my poems several times and ask what I meant or how brilliant it was but please explain. No, I want my stories and poems to be encountered heart to heart and see if something happens. Yes, I hope most are positive and thought provoking. But if the heart doesn’t hear or care, the mind just tucks it away. Out of sight, out of mind

        May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

