Run Where The Flowers Grow


Photo of Cocker Spaniel Ch. Obo II, published ...

Image via Wikipedia

I couldn’t believe my eyes,

Dad had brought home a surprise,

A black and white cocker spaniel,

Just a puppy, but she meant the world to me,

She was happy, playful, and made me smile,

Lady came when I called her, eager to please,

We were two friends, always at ease,

The two of us discovered the world anew,

Bonded by our hearts, our friendship grew,

Sniffing flowers, chasing birds,

I read stories and she listened to every word,

When she was two she followed me down,

 The dirt roads to the grocery store in our town,

We encountered few cars that hot summer day,

 Crossing the two lane county road on our way,

Before I got groceries the owner and I had a debate,

 But he said, “No dogs allowed. She’ll have to wait,”

When I looked for her, she had crossed the street,

Busily sniffing flowers, or looking for bugs to eat,

My first thought was, “She shouldn’t be over there.”

 Without thinking, I whistled, loud and clear,

The shrill sound hanging expectantly in the air,

It was then that I saw a speeding car,

And realized that it wasn’t very far,

At the same time I saw Lady raise her head,

And obediently towards me she sped,

Smiling with every stride,

“Stop, Lady, stop!” I wish I’d cried,

But I was frozen, watching this nightmarish scene,

The car and Lady, the gap closing in between,

There was a loud “Whump!”

Time stopped and I had no need for air,

The car had hit Lady and the driver seemed unaware,

He slowed, then sped up, I knew he didn’t care,

I ran to her and dropped to my knees,

 “Lady, get up! I’m sorry, please,”

But I held a lifeless form tight,

Wishing with all my might,

That this was just a bad dream in the night,

I walked home in a trance,

Angry at myself for what I had done,

“Why did I whistle without a glance?

Why had I done this to my friend?”

Blaming myself over and over again,

 Tears streaming down my face,

Somehow managing to carry her to our place,

Where Mom took the groceries,

Telling me to hold Lady for a few minutes more,

Until I collapsed spiritless on the floor,

The next day a private ceremony with a prayer,

Only family was invited there,

My heart pounded and my head hurt,

And with each shovelful of dirt,

I thought I could hear a whistle blow,

Before I left, I leaned down and whispered softly,

“Run, Lady, run, where the flowers grow.”

14 thoughts on “Run Where The Flowers Grow

  1. Ohhhh, this is trauma. I hope this isn’t based on a true story but I have a feeling it is :-(. I grew up with my standard poodle named Heidi and she was my best friend. She died when we both were fifteen. I was soooo sad. A part of our family passed away that day (she never went to the mall with us though).

  2. Some stories you have Dan, keeping you always to the edge. I guess where the flowers grow is beautiful?

    I loved your poem posted at Jamie’s blog! Really great and heartfelt!

    • I’ve accumulated a few stories and I’m trying to write them as fast as I can. They’re no good if they’re not shared. I like where flowers are. No matter where I see flowers thriving, especially while driving, I always consider myself blessed.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    • When pets become part of the family the possibilities of pain increase. Thanks for sharing this moment with me.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  3. “Run were the flowers grow …” Oh my, how many dear friends do we end up saying that too? So sad. And what lessons they teach us. What joy they gives us. What trauma when they die, no matter how.

    Touching story, which I take as true. Our poor hearts. How do we survive?

    Lovely homage to you pup, Dan.

    • All the joys and sad times too build my memories and make me who I am. We survive and even thrive. I have had so many friends die in wars, accidents, or in suicides. Scary.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  4. This happened to me in 1978 in Lee Vining, CA. I had an architectural studio across Rt 395 from the Gateway Motel. The owner was a good friend who adopted a beautiful German Shepherd pup. One day, the pup half grown, he saw me taking a break and started across the highway to say hello. I saw him coming and saw the car speeding toward him. I yelled for him to go back. That didn’t work, so I whistled for him to come. He didn’t know what to do, so he stopped and looked at me, ears swiveling and eyes fixed on me, the stupid human who didn’t know what she wanted him to do. I saw the question in his eyes as the car ripped him open, his bloody carcass spun across the pavement. I understand. I really do.

    • Moments of inspiration whether poetry or prose,Destined to appear at times nobody knows,So should it be three,when the muse wakes me,There’s always company, I suppose. After the poetry’s initial verses are down I can sleep again.

      Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

