To Ignore Them is a Mistake


Creativity (magazine)

Image via Wikipedia

Rules are made to be broken,

I’ve oft heard people say,

Rules inhibit creative thinking,

So I won’t follow any today,

Regulations are sterner stuff,

Written in blood and sweat,

Underneath crisp words of order,

Lie coiled venomous threats,

Laws are for those who follow,

What society deems to be fit,

Customs whether right or wrong,

Expecting all to quietly submit,

I’ve seen rules that made sense,

Others that were rather lame,

As a youth I reasoned them out,

And rules became a game,

Regulations were not to be trifled with,

Unless I wanted to be locked away,

So I followed orders I received,

And kept my objections at bay,

Laws made were often flawed,

And burned those under their tread,

Until ruling society was brought to shame,

By all the blood that was shed,

Laws can be guidelines to build a box,

Where dreams cannot climb or fly,

Tired and worn, with little fire at all,

While all the world goes by,

Rules, regulations, and laws take their toll,

Keeping imaginations and hearts quelled,

Everybody marches to the same tune,

Until they choose to rebel,

Thus I follow laws of physics and science,

Because those laws men did not make,

Nature’s rules are fast and true,

To ignore them could be a mistake.

32 thoughts on “To Ignore Them is a Mistake

  1. There are so many rules I’d love to ignore … then some are unavoidable and “must follow” …Very good contribution to Potluck theme Dan!

    • I had just written them to follow the theme for once. You caught me in the act.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    • Thanks Jingle. We do break rules and yet we tell our children to follow them

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  2. Thumbs up to the truth in your great poem and the rules you follow!
    I have broken so many implied rules but not until my heart aches so much.
    Ouch to breaking the rules; woohoo for making my heart sings!
    🙂

    • We all break rules. Isn’t it fun? Thanks for visiting and letting your heart sing.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  3. Dan, I like, like, like the way you have this organized in sequence from weakest to sturnest to what would present a dire threat. Really fine work. Thank you. Great contribution to Potluck. Bravo!

    Thanks for all your visits and comments on my site.

    Warmes regads,
    Jamie

    • You’re welcome and thank you for your fine posts. If you haven’t read “the skunk and the kkk” you might consider commenting. Also “the perfect woman” which was all in fun although sounds like woman bashing. It’s late here and I’m getting tired. Question…if women wear purple and wear red hats, what should old blogger men wear?

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

      • Purple and red! Ha! I think they should where whatever puts a smile on their faces. 🙂 That’s what it’s all about.

        I had a friend who went around in a Greek fisherman’s hat. He loved it and looked quite jaunty in it as well, though he was from Ireland not Greece. He had fun.

      • I think people should live life with gusto. Wearing purple and red or a Greek fisherman’s hat spices up the world.

        May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  4. Very true! I take the Captain Sparrow approach to rules: when referring to the pirates code he said ‘More like a set s guidelines really…’ I believe that that to be correct for all man made rules.Peace be with you.

    • Use rules to play the game, but not to use them to blame. I agree with you. Rules are just guidelines.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    • Use rules as guidelines but not as boundaries. Go out and have some fun. Thanks for stopping by.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  5. Dan, thanks so much for your poem in the comment section of today’s post on my site. There are so many good points embedded in it. I posted it under the original post with link to you and copyright to you.

    I love that it acknowledges the complexity of parenting – an art, not a science. And how many of us had parents who said “just wait” … threatening us with kids as “bad” as we were. Phew! And were we bad? I don’t know. I think my son’s great, so maybe in this case what went round didn’t come round. Or, maybe I wasn’t so bad to begin with. Who knows?

    Anyway, thank you. Please know that your funny and profound comments and poems are so very much appreciated. Poem on …

    Jamie Dedes

    • Thanks,Jamie. It wasn’t my fault at all, my muse kept kicking me, she was having a ball, It was her parents I think,that caused such a commotion, said her actions stink, they said she was a good driver,driving them to drink. Being serious, I told my children they would get a large inheritance, no money, just lots of good and bad traits, and for their sakes I hoped there were a lot more good ones than bad. May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  6. I share your sentiment, Dan… each word you said here is true!! We have a habit of making rules and laws as per our convenience. Quite obviously, they work for some, and don’t for others! So it’s better to just stick nature’s laws, and as for the “other” rules, do what your heart/brain and conscience deem fit!

    Really liked your poem a lot, my friend!

  7. Rules stifle freedom, and some just go against nature. This makes me think sometimes that there should be no rules. This, of course, begs the question, “What will happen then? Will there be chaos?” But then, like you said, there is such a thing as natural law. I believe humans know, based on the laws of the universe, what is wrong and what is right. For example, harming others isn’t right, and I think we innately know that, whether or not the law tells us so.

    This is another good, thought-provoking piece from you. What I like most about your poems is that I can use them as pieces of advice. Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

