The Choice


A photo of The Thinker by Rodin located at the...

Image via Wikipedia

 He stood silently and scratched his head,

Staring at the oaks outside hard and long,

While his terrible thoughts raced ahead,

“How did I manage to let things become so wrong?”

He should warn her, “Don’t be fooled if no words are said,”

He shuddered and wondered, “Why can’t I be strong?”

The thought of her crying filled him with dread,

Although three birds flew from tree to tree,

And two squirrels chased each other on limbs below,

Nothing else moved as far as he could see,

Life disappeared when the temperature dipped low,

“I think this winter scene is just like me,

I’m in a marriage that’s as cold as the snow,

There’s a little life left, but I need to be free,”

His wife made coffee and brought it with care,

He didn’t look up, afraid his face would betray,

But he was already certain that she was aware,

She hurried off to wake the kids for another school day,

“Why doesn’t she mention something about my affair?”

But she busied herself with the children and he was on his way,

Sweaty palms, racing heart, turmoil inside, softly he began to swear,

An office party, it had started out innocent enough,

They talked about their lives and when they could retire,

He tried to stay away, but his heart wasn’t that tough,

They had too much to drink, then alone and on fire,

He felt tenderness, passion, and all the romantic stuff,

“I’m happy,” he told himself, yet deep within he was a liar,

For he still had to go home, and his wife to bluff,

Time passed quickly after that sordid start,

His desires were fulfilled but it was a living hell,

He knew he had to choose between head and heart,

Should he do what he thought was right and well,

Or keep on savoring life sip by sip, loving each part?

 Would he have to decide? Only time would tell,

What choice should he make, if he wanted to be smart?

One evening his lover presented him with a choice,

 Leave two children and his wife, with two years of deceit,

She said, “If you want to keep me, you’ll need a divorce,”

Quickly he thought, “Love on the run, or a family complete,”

It was only then that he finally found his voice,

“I choose to love again with a love more concrete,

I hope she will love me, because I’ve made my choice.”

24 thoughts on “The Choice

  1. In the town where I was born, in the park next to our flat, we have statue of the Thinker … how many times I’ve been there thinking together with him …

    I love your interpretation connected to the picture…. very much!

    • Thank you. I just have to think on my own. I’d love to be thinking next to the statue. Thanks for your stopping by.l

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    • Thank you. I’m learning along with others and being inspired by all. And thanks for you ongoing encouragement and your ever flowing poetry.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    • The characters were not pleased as of this writing. What should they do next?

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  2. An affair is like a hair that will never lay down. It stares back at you at attention and no cow licking will make it go away. An old girl friend bought stock in baseball club hat manufacturing plant for just this reason.. sorry couldn’t resist.. Great write, sad situation.

  3. Your story drew me in, and I had to keep reading and reading like your poem was a novel. This is an excellent poem, and I like how you write about relationships, although being a newlywed, I must admit that the mere mention of the word “affair” scares the hell out of me.

    • The word divorce was never in my vocabulary when I got married. Marriages lasted forever and you learned to work through problems. My parents were married 67 years and my older siblings were married for life so I had good role models. But it takes two to make a marriage work. Keep loving unselfishly, unconditionally, and work through problems (that’s where growth together comes). My next story poem, The Skunk, is not about personal relationships but race relations. A little longer and perhaps will leave an impression also. Please be ready to comment so I know where this journey of story poems will lead. May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

