My Life Will Not Be a Stagnant Pond


A picture of a pond in a residential garden.
Image via Wikipedia

In my dreams there was a pond not far beyond,

Where everything stopped, no frog hopped,

It was there that it was said it’s better to be dead,

Not much can live, no life to give,

Few signs of activity, the home of negativity,

What went in never came out,

It was a resting place for shame and doubt,

A deathly silence engulfed the air,

And I faced my own reality there,

Things I never did hung over my head,

Conversations I never had made me sad,

Risks I never took deserved another look,

I just waited for life to begin and end,

A bystander remembering talents never used,

Ignoring all that were battered and bruised,

Weeks became months, months became years,

The only signs of life were my tears,

When I woke I danced, for I had a second chance,

My life was a gift and others I could lift,

I decided to take the initiative and lead,

Crossing those barriers that might impede,

Building relationships that were filled with trust,

Flowing and active, living a life that was robust,

Not a stagnant pond, for I’ll keep moving on,

Celebrating life ongoing, reaching out,

No longer is there any doubt,

It’s not about me after all, for I heard the call,

Not frozen in fear but trumpeting loud and clear,

Caring for the young, the homeless, and the weak,

Always wanting it to be the truth I seek,

I’ll sleep under the stars, rail against wars,

Be active in my home and community,

Instead of stagnation, choosing generativity,

My dreams won’t be about what I haven’t done,

But about all the victories won,

And I’ll be happy to encounter challenges each day,

Growing, flowing, alive in every way,

My life stream teeming with life along the banks,

For this second chance, I dance, and give thanks.

35 thoughts on “My Life Will Not Be a Stagnant Pond

Add yours

    1. As many chances as we need! As I continue on my journey I will make choices. Some of them will be learning experiences that will keep me on an upward path.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. I can imagine you waiting for a good whiff of pond scum. LOL Hope it doesn’t take the place of morning coffee.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  1. I love the line rejecting stagnation and choosing generativity. Talking to a young man at my University, he, and many like him, are stuck in stagnation not knowing what to do that will start a cycle of creativity and generativity. The tasks seem so large. But isn’t this the real truth? It is a choice.

    1. The first step is both the easiest and the hardest. The step not taken wastes time and energy without accomplishing anything. If the young man knew a paper was due, what would he do? His chances are infinitely better if he turns one in, good or bad. Either good and/or bad will lead to acceptance and/or rejection. Either will lead to some kid of growth. To just worry without submitting does not benefit him in the least. Tell him or others like him that the first step can be a baby step, but a growing step, a step towards the light.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. Thank you for your encouraging words. They will keep me inspired!

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  2. Your reflections are ones I’ve made often, especially lately, with my Don’t Blink project, but also earlier, as I lost a friend to a brain tumor, and he was way too young. It changed me. I don’t always take the risks ( “Risks I never took deserved another look–love that) I mean sometimes money and situation are a factor, but I’m making a conscious effort these days…thanks so much for this lovely reminder.

    1. Learning to appreciate our friends and the world around us is a big step. I’m still learning to give thanks for what gifts I have.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. Thank you for your comment and for stopping by. It was a pleasure having you visit.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. It seems when life is darkest and stormiest, funnel clouds on the horizon scary, that’s when positive messages come fastest. Come’on Dan, you can do it. Just buckle down and hit it head on. Face to the wind. But, of course, I never feel alone at such times. I believe God is there. If I get knocked down, He picks me up, dusts me off, and says, “I know how tough you are. Now go out and give it another try.” I’ve been divorced twice, hit financial bottom several times (right now again), been suicidal, faced some serious health issues, etc. and each time I was almost done and out. Each time I discovered strength beyond myself. Now I’m alone and lonely but love life and who I am. I know I won’t get out of this life alive but I might as well enjoy the ride until the roller coaster comes to a stop.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Cindy Holman

Musings From A Musical Mind

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Cindy Holman

Musings From A Musical Mind

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

