I Heard Her Call His Name


A glass of Brown Ale in a "Wellington&quo...
Image via Wikipedia

He’d partied with friends and had gone home alone,

A quiet end to his evening, no wild oats sown,

He had been sleeping when a woman entered his room,

He glanced up and saw her after he detected her perfume,

She was beautiful and seemed to float with angelic grace,

But when she turned, there was something about her face,

Instead of a smile he saw loneliness and despair,

“I’m having a nightmare,” he mused, “due to the cool air”,

He shivered and pulled the covers up real tight,

Determined he could simply dismiss his fright,

But closer she came and sat quickly on his bed,

“It is only a dream,” he thought, still filled with dread,

He slipped deeper into the covers, perhaps she would not stay,

But her weight pressed upon him, taking his breath away,

He thought he heard her whisper, “You are mine today,”

A few minutes, an hour or more, time seemed to delay,

Her weight shifted, he felt her leaving again,

Was she gone, really gone, or was the departure feigned?

Although still afraid, he had to know, whether dream or for real,

The covers he pulled down and looked, she waited for him still,

She hovered there in the dark, yet he could see her smile,

And then through the wall she stepped, humming all the while,

“Thank you, sir!” she called out, “You’re the father of my child!”

He did not move till dawn it broke, he could scarcely even breathe,

“Was there someone who would listen now, and perhaps even believe?”

I listened to his story, I asked him to tell me twice,

Each time he paled as he began, his blood cold as ice,

He was reluctant to sleep again, except in light of day,

He claimed she was waiting, wanting to have her way,

Daily he grew weaker, he had lost his taste for food,

But one day he said to me, “I’m in a party mood,”

“Bring me brown ale and we’ll celebrate,

It’s time to meet my fate,”

With a smile he said, “She waited for me so long,

Now it’s time for me to go where I belong,”

With those words said, he gasped his last breath,

And on his face his last smile, frozen there in death,

His story would have ended there but the coroner called to me,

“What do you know about his children? This photo shows three,”

Three children were there, hovering in air, that’s how it seemed to me,

He sat proudly with his arm around—nothing that I could see,

On the back he wrote a note, “This is my family,

My wife is a ghost, she returns whenever she can,

Now I must go where I belong, I’m a family man.”

This story may sound odd, but it’s true all the same,

I was there when he died, “I heard her call his name.”

38 thoughts on “I Heard Her Call His Name

Add yours

  1. the most beautiful poem-story i’ve ever read. It captured my attention instantly

    awesome poem!! 😀

    i loved it *infinite likes*

    1. Thanks Jingle. I’m glad I could entertain. It was fun to write.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. The life of a poet, living between reality and other worldly stuff.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. Thank you. I really enjoy your posts also. Visit often, my blog or , should you ever visit the usa, stop by for awhile.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

      1. I hope I could one day visit USA, I love traveling and there are many places from your country worth visiting, but for now I think I’ll stick to visiting your blog. Smiles!

      2. Any time you want to visit, blog or not, you’re always welcome.

        May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. Receiving great comments is appreciated, especially since I hold your poetry in high regard.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. Thanks, Jessica. I enjoy hearing from you and also enjoy reading your excellent posts. So thank you for keeping me on my toes.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. I had been discussing spirits and ghosts with my daughter and the poem just happened.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

      1. Ghost stories remind us of times when we were safe and could afford to be scared.

        May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  2. Agreed with all above…this story had me wondering at first – then it captured me and pulled in until the end…..very much enjoyed the read..thank you…bkm

    1. I’m glad you liked the story. Visit as often as you would like.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. You’re welcome to visit any time. Thanks for your kind words. Check out “Red Flames on Roof”.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

