Red Flames on the Roof


Cover of "The Fire"
Cover of The Fire

Traveling a back road under star-lit sky,

Depressed and sad after a long goodbye,

 It was over but I didn’t understand why,

I had time to ponder but no time to cry,

Few houses were here on this lonely road,

If there were lights, none of them showed,

But a light flickered a short distance ahead,

Why was this light on?  It was flickering red,

The glow was larger, red flames on the roof,

There was no time to waste, no time to be aloof,

Up to the door I ran and knocked once or twice,

Someone approached with words that weren’t nice,

“What do you want?” he shouted through the door,

“I’ll blast you with Betsy if you bother me anymore!”

“There are flames on your roof. Your house is on fire!”

“Your trickery won’t work,” he said, “I know you’re a liar.”

He fired one shot as I raced back to the car,

I needed to call the fire department, it couldn’t be far,

9-1-1, I was shaking but my fingers flew fast,

“What do you want?” a sleepy voice asked,

“There’s a house on fire,” I hurried to say,

“Tell me the address, and I’ll be on my way,”

 “The flames are roaring from this particular house,

If you don’t hurry, there’ll be no flames to dowse,”

“I’m warning you now, this better not be a prank,

I’m getting up to put water in the tank,”

I threw down the phone and raced to the door,

The fire was burning the house to the core,

I kicked open the door and raced down one hall,

I stooped down low and made myself small,

I didn’t feel brave, the heat was intense,

I couldn’t see far, the smoke was too dense,  

I managed to get over my stress and fears,

I heard voices crying, I knew there were tears,

Two small children, one under each arm,

I got them to safety without any harm,

A woman was found, collapsed in a heap,

I hoped she would awaken from this sleep,

Another person, I thought, the man at the door,

I hope that’s all, I can’t look for any more,

I tried to enter, but the heat drove me back,

The fire truck arrived then to take up the slack,

“It’s too late to save the house,” someone said,

“Anyone in there would now be dead,”

“Isn’t this where the chief lives with his wife Mage?

“Yes, there’s his truck, his coat and badge,”

“If someone had warned him his house was on fire,

This would not have become his funeral pyre,”

A fireman asked, “Stranger, what did you see?”

“I arrived too late, the heat was too much for me,

I saw a man carry two children and then his wife,

Without concern for his very own life,

He went inside, no reason or rhyme,

But he didn’t make it out the very last time.”

“The chief is a hero!” the fireman cried,

He saved his family before he died.”

I continued my journey wishing I had saved the chief,

But he wouldn’t listen; he called me a thief,

Without warning his family he went back to bed,

I’m glad they are safe, but he is dead.

55 thoughts on “Red Flames on the Roof

Add yours

  1. This is very haunting to me.

    When I was in the seventh grade nearly an entire family burned up…except for the parents. Tim Spencer, the son of the deceased, pulled his Mom and Dad out. He went back in to get more…and didn’t make it.

    You poem is very good and should serve to remind us all just how quick the end can come.
    At least that is what I took from it.

    Tim

    1. In a separate incident one of my friends went back to rescue members of her family. She didn’t know that they were already safe but were scattered. She didn’t make it. We should have a plan to escape and then communicate.

      1. The memories we each write on the tablet of life serve as guideposts for others. Your posts stir the world.

        May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  2. regret?
    Glad that only one is gone, rest of the family is safe..

    another lovely story, aptly told…
    Thanks for the comments and encouragements in my place..
    Happy 2011.

    1. Life takes a few twists and turns sometimes. This incident led me into becoming a fireman for a short while.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. It’s a never ending story. You are right. If they heed the message.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. Thank you, Dr. You do dramatic things often while I have to search my life to find them.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. Thank you. I’ll try it again soon with humor, another one of my true life stories.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  3. Wonderfully told, sad story. The hero archetype calls us to be all that we can be. I guess like many others, I have my story. When I was in Scranton PA for undergrad school a family was burned out and a daughter survived. Years later I met up with her in CA…we were serving in the same ministry. Life certainly has its twists and turns. Thanks, Dan.

    1. Your comments are appreciated. Thanks for sharing your story. This poem was taken from two stories that happened when I was younger. Just let me know when you’ve posted again and I’ll come beating on your door.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. I’m glad you stopped by and enjoyed my post. I’ll stop again at your site later.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. You don’t need to doubt yourself. You are an excellent poet, editor, and writer. You keep other writers informed and encouraged. You go, girl!

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  4. what a story, creative message, sadness mixed with flames … I always enjoy coming here! Thank you so much for visiting me, sorry for the silence, I was away. May you have a wonderful 2011! Keep the beautiful moments in your heart!

    1. Blaga, thanks for visiting and commenting. I always enjoy your posts so keep me updated.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. Thank you. Your poem got me thinking on many levels. So thank you for your posts and also for stopping by.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

      1. Jamie please keep putting out your posts so I can become cultured and refined. You’re an inspiration to me in addition to countless others.

        May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

