Changing the Future


Basilica San Juan Capistrano 1987
Image via Wikipedia

Changing the Future by Looking at the Past

This year the earth revealed its splendor,

 I watched keenly and wrote with joy,

As each delicious moment appeared,

The pleasures were mine to enjoy,

Yet I knew everything in my path,

Was not deserved, whether good or bad,

Possessions and talents squandered,

The things I wanted or thought I had,

Slipped dancing before my eyes,

Laughs I’ve given and sorrows, too,

Started coming back, one at a time,

Returning as Capistrano’s swallows do,

Time elapsed quickly like sand in a glass,

Keeping me mindful of family and friends,

I invested in friendship and gave love away,

Stayed vulnerable, bending with the winds,

My yesterdays were counted and gone,

Once spent, no way to pull them back,

But each day was a bonus and not my last,

That’s why I am so very determined,

To change the future by looking at the past,

Each day I’ll do an unexpected good,

Because everybody is broken in some way,

I’ll reach out to those who feel misunderstood,

I’ll be encouraging, patient and gentle every day,

I’ll try to make this year even better,

For there is still so much to be done,

I’ll lead by example, helping with love,

Reaching out to the world, one by one.

16 thoughts on “Changing the Future

Add yours

  1. Hello Dan,
    hope you are well.

    I like each and every poem you write, but you know that already, how could I not like them when you write so deep, from the bottom of your psyche. Everytime I read one of your poems I feel that you are a the master of communication! Life experiences made you a very kind philosopher who sees poetry as a way to share his beautiful thoughts to everybody.
    I will stop though now, because I wouldn’t like to think of my admiration as flattery, because I respect to you to much to flatter you. And this is why I don’t write to you often.
    Changing topic…I wish you to have a Very Merry Christmas with your family and friends, and a very Happy New Year.

    Best Wishes
    K.
    ps. Thank you so much for your comments, I really appreciate them.

  2. Hello Dan,
    hope you are well.

    I like each and every poem you write, but you know that already, how could I not like them when you write so deep, from the bottom of your psyche. Everytime I read one of your poems I feel that you are The master of communication! Life experiences made you a very kind philosopher who sees poetry as a way to share his beautiful thoughts with everybody.
    I will stop though now, because I wouldn’t like for you to think of my admiration as flattery, because I respect to you to much to flatter you. And this is why I don’t write to you so often.
    Changing topic…I wish you to have a Very Merry Christmas with your family and friends, and a very Happy New Year.

    Best Wishes
    K.
    ps. Thank you so much for your comments, I really appreciate them.
    PLEASE DELETE THE FIRST COMMENT, I AMENDED MY ERRORS …SORRY

    1. Thank you for your kind words. Write often because you inspire me. Family: My children are grown and live in California. Friends: My friends live everywhere. Merry Christmas to you also. Best wishes, Dan May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

