I Chose To Love You


I Chose To Love You

I chose to love you,

Not because you were perfect,

Or because I wanted to connect,

But because I first liked you,

For being the person you are,

I saw the way you treated others,

Like everyone was a sister or brother,

You were never haughty or mean,

You were the kindest person I’d seen,

You never gave up, never were daunted,

The way you asked for what you wanted,

Never demanding or criticizing,

Trying to manipulate or confronting,

Demands stop the flow of love, you stated,

While requests give love a chance to relate,

You turned out to be quite a gem,

You accepted me for who I am,

So I made a choice to love you,

When I was being abusive,

You weren’t reclusive,

You stood your ground,

And wouldn’t let me put you down,

You told me you loved me too much,

To be treated badly,

It wouldn’t be good for me or for you,

It would turn out sadly,

 You had too much self respect,

And too much respect for me,

To let our relationship just be,

You held me accountable,

And made me better than I was,

I chose to love you,

Your kisses waited for me,

You gave me space to be free,

Without being smothered,

You let me take your love,

Like a fish takes the bait and runs,

But once I tired of running,

You reeled me in,

Letting me think I was still free,

But I was too much in love,

And glad you chose me.

38 thoughts on “I Chose To Love You

Add yours

    1. Love should be special. It makes the world go around and hearts to sing. I enjoy your blog also.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. It depends on how desperate you are. I’m sure with all of your talents you will do fine. Thanks for asking.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  1. Reading this just made me feel so happy and free–just the way love does. Beautifully captured here with your well-chosen words, Dan.

    Sounds like you chose very wisely.

    1. If only life worked like poetry, then all would be well. Then again, after going through potluck poetry it seems that love has big mood swings, going from good to verse.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

      1. My giggle for the a.m. Thank you, Dan. It’s true.

        For the most part, I don’t care for love poems. This one is truly sweet and truly sensible.

        Often, though love poems get a bit boring and too often dealing with conVERSity. Also, I think the work of maturity is generativity… I guess I’m just in a different place now.

        Poem on, my friend. Thanks for the gifts you left on my blog. Wonderful.

      2. Thank you, Jamie, for your comments. It’s easier to look at love through wisdom rather than pain or self pity. I choose not to be so full of myself these days, which means I must have learned something.

        May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. Thanks for stopping by. I respect your comments. Have a great weekend.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  2. Lovely poem. 🙂 My fovourite lines are: But because I first liked you,/For being the person you are,/. So many people today like someone because they want to shift them into their own perceptions of who they want them to be. It’s rare to find someone that really likes another someone for who they are. This girl sounds like a really lovely person, and very intelligent.

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

