Small Simple Things With Love


Small Simple Things With Love (One Poet’s Legacy)

Because I am a poet,

I am wiser than I think,

I see the world with clarity,

Able to mix fantasy with reality,

Discovering beauty wherever I look,

Or find ugliness and mayhem out my door,

I can’t ignore the world and waste my life,

I try to create order out of chaos,

And do small simple things with love,

Because I am aware of life and death,

And within the parameters of my time,

I am working on my legacy,

For a poet leaves more than leaves of grass,

For life’s deepest meaning is in relationships,

For all the experience I learned,

Loves once had, so foolish spent,

Were ground powder fine as the world turned,

But my world is much bigger than loves lost,

My fingerprints have left indelible marks,

Doing a thousand small simple things with love,

Comforting those left standing alone,

Who shed great tears of pain,

Encouraging those who lacked hope,

Lifting their spirits from the depths,

Urging those who needed words of action,

Doing something that would make someone’s life better,

Small simple things with love,

My footprints also linger on,

For I’ve walked carefully throughout life,

Stepping forward in truth and purpose,

Walking tall and unafraid to face the world,

Leaving footprints, I’m sure,

Yet unseen by me if I turn and look,

So I go trudging on,

My words heartfelt and true,

Knowing that my words are powerful,

Solving problems, gathering information,

Abstract thinking, concrete thinking,

Words that have the power of life and death,

Should be words of love and peace,

Kind words, affirming words, a chance to show mercy,

I am a poet and I share my essence,

My heart is open and in my dreams,

I leap barriers that block love’s capricious whim,

I do not want to keep love’s fire without,

It has to burn within,

I am vulnerable to the world,

And my dreams are of love and peace,

Each footprint, each fingerprint, that I leave,

Will be small simple things with love,

For I am a poet.

29 thoughts on “Small Simple Things With Love

Add yours

  1. Because I am a poet,

    I am wiser than I think,

    I see the world with clarity,

    Able to mix fantasy with reality,…

    sound opening. well done.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Happy Rally.
    🙂

    1. Thanks, Jingle, for stopping by. Happy rally to you with many new poets.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  2. This is definitely one of my favorite! =D~~~

    100 x like for this, I love the way you had written through yourself as a poet, it is definitely a wonderful moment for everyone to remember =)~ Leaving a small little thing can means so much ;D

    Happy Rally!

    1. No, thank you for coming by and commenting. It is an honor having you.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. You are a poet also and I’m enjoying your poems. Keep it up. Thanks for flying by.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. Thank you for your words that I love. Thanks for visiting once again.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  3. Poetry isn’t just words put together. It means creating wonderful statements that come from the bottom of your heart my make other people feel your love, pain, each feeling you put into your poem…

    Nice poem!

    Take care, Spela

    1. Poets forget how powerful words are. It’s true that the pen is sharper than the sword. As for parades, just looking for the right causes and good people to march with me.

  4. Dan, this is such a great tribute to the role/personal mission of poets. If I recall correctly, you were a teacher, I was a nurse. I think we are called through poetry to continue to teach, heal and create. Well done.
    Victoria

    1. We have our work cut out for us, don’t we? Now I’ll have the opportunity to read your poetry knowing you also have the gift of healing. That will add to the fun!

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  5. This is like the message of a poet!!…Love the incomparable lines and the meaning conveyed!!….its amazing!!…Keep it up buddy!

  6. i liked the first two lines as it applies to any field of expertise. and this piece sounds like what someone i know might write on his lighter days.

    good one right here =]

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

