Harvest of Dreams


Harvest of Dreams

I could say the world is fractured,

Spinning crazily out of control,

With floods, disease, and death,

Corrupt governments with no soul,

How can I find words of gratitude,

For the blessings I have received,

When voices wounded and angry,

Are saying they have been deceived,

I could say I’ve been lucky,

With family, health, and a job,

And ignore the world’s pitiful wail,

As it’s trampled by a mob,

There are shocking glimpses of truth,

With media and words of pleading,

They resonate deep within the soul,

It’s hard to stop the bleeding,

From out of chaos I will rise above,

Blessing others on destiny’s road,   

One step forward, one day at a time,

I’ll help lighten someone’s load,

Soothing answers though are not enough,

To stop the destruction and greed,

So I will climb over the walls,

To help someone in need,

I cannot forget the troubles of the world,

While I listen to the anguished cries,

During this season I’ll give of myself,

I’ll reach out as the needs arise,

What can I do? I’m just one, you know,

That will show that I’ve been blessed,

I’ll give thanks for all I’ve received,

But service for others will be my test,

I can’t tune the world out,

Just to let beauty come in,

But I can work to change myself,

Starting with my heart within,

Every day is a harvest of dreams,

When I ease the plight of another,

The things once said could not be done,

Are possible when I work with others.

6 thoughts on “Harvest of Dreams

Add yours

  1. I have to say, out of the poems I have read by you, this is ceritanly my favorite. I enjoy the idea of ‘harvesting a dream’, and if I may offer some constructive critism, I find that uses such as ‘corrupted goverment and ‘bias media’ to be overused in these times and cliched. If you could instead use a literary device, like a metaphor in place of it, the overall feeling I would recieve from the poem would greatly increase.

    Just a thought..

    -bk

    1. I just couldn’t resist turning the tables and having a little fun. Thanks for giving me the first laugh.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

