Caretaker of the Earth


Caretaker of the Earth

I am a caretaker of the earth,

For I have no peace unless I

Feel the soil under my fingernails,

Johnny Appleseed was a step ahead,

Or he was me, for in my dreams,

I walked new lands,

Bending, stooping, planting,

Planting orchards in my wake,

Birds sang my song,

And bees hummed as I went along,

Wild animals treated me as an old friend,

I am a caretaker of the earth,

I cannot ignore the cries of the land,

In my dreams there is more than planting seeds,

I hold myself responsible for violent deeds,

Things I’ve left undone, or not done to my best,

Haunt my dreams and put me to the test

So come along, my friend,

Perhaps to my defense you can attest.

 (But Lord, You Can’t Blame Me!)

I think the Lord doesn’t understand.   I found that out today,

“What have you done to my garden?” I heard the Lord say,

“Lord, I was asleep.  It just wasn’t my fault,

I didn’t see anyone cover it with asphalt,”

“Where are my fishes? I’ve searched down and even deeper,”

“Wait a minute, Lord. Am I the fishes’ keeper?”

“Where are my animals? He whispered with dread,

“They got in the way, Lord.  They’re dead, all dead.”

“Is that a mushroom cloud hanging over mankind?”

“But, Lord, that’s the only way of peace we could find.”

“You must try harder. Give up your wasteful way.”

“But, Lord, I only take what I want.  Even then I pray.”

“I’m one of the good guys. Why should I repent?

I salute the flag.  I give ten percent.”

I saw the skies grow dark and the wind began to howl,

“You’ve disappointed me,” I could see his angry scowl,

“But, Lord,” I muttered, “you can’t blame me.

I’ve done all I could.  Don’t you agree?”

The dream was awful, for it made me feel,

That what I was dreaming was in some ways real,

As a caretaker I cannot let others pillage and rape,

And watch the earth destroyed as I stand and gape.

24 thoughts on “Caretaker of the Earth

Add yours

    1. We forget that our earth is merely a spaceship with a limited amount of resources.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  1. beautiful dreams,
    at time they reveal your inner struggles or fears.
    awesome entry,
    Thanks for sharing your work with potluck.

    1. Thanks, Jingle. It’s always special when you comment. Thank you for stopping by.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. As our world becomes more crowded and more resources are used, we have to think about our garden. Thank you for reading my post.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. I thought you might like that poem. Happy potluck to you also and thanks for stopping by. I value your opinions.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    1. Thank you. Keep up your novel. Soak in experiences for your next one.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  2. I have infer from a few of the articles on your website trendy, and I extremely like your tastefulness of blogging. I added it to my favorites net age muster and resolve be checking back soon. Please contain into public notice my put as approvingly and leave to me be familiar with what you think. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Naga

Critical. Crazy. Catastrophic.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

Virginia Duran Blog

Art · Architecture · Graphic Design

POSSIBILITY IN EVERY OPPORTUNITY

THERE IS NO HARM IN DOING YOUR BEST

Lenise

A Woman After His Heart

Sassy Housewife

Sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the musings of a Sassy Housewife

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

janetpoole.wordpress.com/

How to Get Anything You Want - Just Like That!

Grandma Simpson's Kitchen in Roby Texas

A Collection of Recipes from Home on the Farm

Lisa Ellis Williams

"Encouraging and equipping women to trust God with their marriage"

