Yesterday Was the Day


Yesterday Was the Day

She stooped and picked up a shell,

She studied it closely, then threw it away,

I became her throwaway yesterday,

I thought I knew her so well,

As they circled above the seagulls cried,

For they knew how love ebbs and flows,

My heart was aching, that’s how it goes,

Yesterday was the day my love for her died,

She smiled at me as if nothing was wrong,

But she kept that secret out of reach,

And continued walking down the beach,

She knew she was leaving all along,

We had lunch at one, then she said goodbye,

She drove away, then turned and waved,

In my memory a lasting impression I saved,

She was going back to her other guy,

I walked bravely along the lonely shore,

As the fog rolled in to fill the space,

Tears of pain rolled down my face,

While I listened to the waves’ constant roar,

A group of laughing people passed me by,

They couldn’t tell how long I cried,

Yesterday was the day that my love died,

I smiled at them, my face frozen in a lie.

22 thoughts on “Yesterday Was the Day

    • Some truth is best, because the magic works better. Thanks for stopping by for a spell. No wand needed.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    • If I can touch emotions just once or twice, I have been successful. Thank you for your kind words.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    • Based on a true story. However, if she had stayed with me I’m sure the troubles would be far greater. I have to remember to give thanks for unanswered prayers. Thank you for stopping by.

      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

    • Thank you. Since I hold your poetry in high regard, your comments are welcome indeed.
      dan
      May the sun be on your face and the wind at your back as the Lord blesses you throughout the day. Carpe diem!

  1. Happy Thanksgiving Dan! I have a segment on my blog called Poetic License and once a month I feature great poetry that I find mostly among WordPress bloggers. Blaga recommended your poetry to me and I would like to feature this poem in January if you don’t mind.

    I have to let you know that the name of my blog does sometimes keep people away but if it does not bother you, I would like to use Yesterday Was The Day. It is a very sad poem but a very good one as well.

    You will get full credit and a link back to your site. If you would like to see November’s Poetic License, here is the link: http://morningerection.wordpress.com/2010/11/20/poetic-license-3/.

    I wait to hear your answer. Also every four months I plan on grouping all the previous month’s poems together in one big post. Thanks for considering.

Leave a Reply

